Kristin Gourlay http://ripr.org en Rhode Island Kids Rank 26th In Well-Being http://ripr.org/post/rhode-island-kids-rank-26th-well-being <p>Children are worse off in Rhode Island than in the rest of New England. But there are some bright spots in an annual report about kids’ well-being.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:16:15 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 37111 at http://ripr.org Surge In Children Removed From Homes Due To Neglect Or Abuse In Rhode Island http://ripr.org/post/surge-children-removed-homes-due-neglect-or-abuse-rhode-island <p>A reported surge in the number of children removed from their homes because of abuse or neglect is raising concern across the state.&nbsp; Addiction is a major cause.</p><p></p><p>Chris Dorval manages programs at an addiction treatment facility called Clinical Services of Rhode Island. Dorval says that over the past couple of years, he’s treated a growing number of clients whose children have been removed from their homes. But Dorval said he thinks there’s more to it than just the increasing <em>number</em> of people addicted to opioids like heroin and prescription painkillers.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 13:13:58 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 37089 at http://ripr.org Neglect And The Developing Brain http://ripr.org/post/neglect-and-developing-brain <p>For babies, healthy brain development is like a tennis game. A caregiver "serves" up an interaction, like a facial expression, a coo, or a word, and the infant "returns" that serve, imitating the expression or sound. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 17:58:51 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 37042 at http://ripr.org Where ACA Dollars Have Flowed Into RI http://ripr.org/post/where-aca-dollars-have-flowed-ri <p>The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid have announced the second round of Health Care Innovation awards. These are big grants for projects that are trying to reduce the cost of health care and/or improve care delivery, often for some of the sickest or most complicated patients.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:24:10 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36528 at http://ripr.org Where ACA Dollars Have Flowed Into RI How Rhode Island Is Doing In The Fight Against Lead Paint Poisoning http://ripr.org/post/how-rhode-island-doing-fight-against-lead-paint-poisoning <p>The U.S. outlawed lead paint in 1978. Yet it still covers the walls of many older homes, particularly here in the northeast. When that paint chips or peels, it poses a serious danger especially to kids. But in 2005, Rhode Island passed a law requiring some landlords to clean up lead paint. And a group of researchers recently set out to find out if it’s working. Hasbro Children’s Hospital pediatrician and Brown University school of public health associate professor doctor Patrick Vivier is one of those researchers. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:45:44 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36506 at http://ripr.org How Rhode Island Is Doing In The Fight Against Lead Paint Poisoning Getting The Lead Out: The Law Works, Except When It Doesn't http://ripr.org/post/getting-lead-out-law-works-except-when-it-doesnt <p>A law aimed at protecting children from unsafe levels of lead in their homes is working, according to a new study. But only when landlords comply with it.</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 18:51:24 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36341 at http://ripr.org Getting The Lead Out: The Law Works, Except When It Doesn't Thunderstorms Today, Ahead Of Arthur http://ripr.org/post/thunderstorms-today-ahead-arthur <p>Hurricane Arthur is churning towards New England. But forecasters are worried about an entirely <em>different</em> weather system hitting the area today.&nbsp;</p><p>National Weather Service meteorologist Glenn Field is hunkering down for a busy day. This afternoon and evening, Field says he’s watching a cold front that’s on track to bring severe weather and a couple of inches of rain to Rhode Island.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:04:42 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36187 at http://ripr.org Beach Bound? Get A Free Skin Cancer Screening http://ripr.org/post/beach-bound-get-free-skin-cancer-screening <p>Are you beach bound this weekend? That is, after Hurricane Arthur clears out?</p><p>If so, you already know to pack the sunscreen, slather it on (<a href="http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/?s=sunscreen">a lot of it, two coats</a>), and reapply after a couple of hours. But here's some more information about why to reapply, which kinds of sunscreens and what SPF are best (and what that means, anyway), and more about the latest developments in sunscreen technology - <strong>below</strong>.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:56:03 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36179 at http://ripr.org Local Reactions To The Hobby Lobby Decision http://ripr.org/post/local-reactions-hobby-lobby-decision <p>Reactions are still coming in to today's U.S. Supreme Court decision in favor of Hobby Lobby (that decision, that the company is not required to cover contraceptives as part of employees' health insurance, can be read <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/13pdf/13-354_olp1.pdf">here</a>.). Here are a few so far. Keep in mind, more decisions related to this one are expected.</p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 19:01:52 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36015 at http://ripr.org Measles Resurgence Touches RI; Possible ER Exposure http://ripr.org/post/measles-resurgence-touches-ri-possible-er-exposure <p>Health officials say several adults may have been exposed to a person with the measles last weekend. The exposure might have happened in the early morning hours of Sunday, June 22nd in the emergency department at Rhode Island Hospital or later that evening in the emergency department at Roger Williams Hospital. Hospital officials say a man later diagnosed with measles presented&nbsp;at Rhode Island Hospital between 3 and 6 in the morning. He left against medical advice. Around 6 pm that evening he went to Roger Williams Hospital with a worsening fever. Sun, 29 Jun 2014 01:12:52 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35956 at http://ripr.org Measles Resurgence Touches RI; Possible ER Exposure