All Things Considered http://ripr.org en Palestinians With Foreign Passports Leave Gaza As Attacks Continue http://ripr.org/post/palestinians-foreign-passports-leave-gaza-attacks-continue The conflict between Israel and Hamas continued, with intensifying Israeli air strikes against in Gaza and Hamas rocket fire aimed at Israel. More than 160 people have been killed so far. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 22:22:00 +0000 Daniel Estrin 36669 at http://ripr.org Germany And Argentina Face Off In World Cup Final http://ripr.org/post/germany-and-argentina-face-world-cup-final The World Cup final takes place on Sunday in Brazil. NPR's Kelly McEvers speaks with Russell Lewis in Rio de Janeiro about the match, which went into extra time with a score of 0-0. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 22:22:00 +0000 editor 36670 at http://ripr.org Lorin Maazel, World-Renowned American Composer, Dies At 84 http://ripr.org/post/lorin-maazel-world-renowned-american-composer-dies-84 Maazel was born in 1930 in Paris, and was a child prodigy. By the time he was a teenager, he had conducted most of the major American orchestras. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 36666 at http://ripr.org The Best Movies Of The Year — From 20 Years Ago http://ripr.org/post/best-movies-year-20-years-ago From Forrest Gump, to Pulp Fiction, to the Lion King, to Quiz Show, 1994 was a momentous year in film, according to a series from the website Grantland. NPR's Kelly McEvers talks with Grantland's Wesley Morris about that year's movies and why they're worth remembering. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 36667 at http://ripr.org Kurdish Authorities Plan Referendum On Independence From Iraq http://ripr.org/post/kurdish-authorities-plan-referendum-independence-iraq NPR's Kelly McEvers talks to Middle East correspondent Leila Fadel about the rift between Iraqi Kurds and Iraq's central government in Baghdad. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 36668 at http://ripr.org Tommy Ramone, Co-Founder Of The Ramones, Dies At 65 http://ripr.org/post/tommy-ramone-co-founder-ramones-dies-65 Tommy Ramone, born Tom Erdelyi, has died at age 65. The drummer was the last living member of the legendary punk band he helped create. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 Kelly McEvers 36648 at http://ripr.org Heading Home To Ohio, LeBron Returns To Cleveland Cavaliers http://ripr.org/post/heading-home-ohio-lebron-returns-cleveland-cavaliers Four years after famously leaving, NBA superstar LeBron James has decided to return to the team where he started his professional career. Many fans in Cleveland say they're excited to have him back. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 editor 36649 at http://ripr.org Truckers Strike At LA Port, While Dock Worker Talks Continue http://ripr.org/post/truckers-strike-la-port-while-dock-worker-talks-continue Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>It's ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR West. I'm Kelly McEvers. There's been tension this week at the ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach. Mind you, this is the largest port complex in the U.S. A place where 40 percent of the cargo arriving to the country passes through. More than 100 short-haul truck drivers at the ports are on strike. These are the guys who move cargo off of container ships and into warehouses and rail yards. Many of them work as independent contractors, meaning they have to pay for their own vehicles and they don't get benefits. Sat, 12 Jul 2014 20:54:00 +0000 editor 36650 at http://ripr.org Are Organic Vegetables More Nutritious After All? http://ripr.org/post/are-organic-vegetables-more-nutritious-after-all There may never be an end to arguments over whether organic food is more nutritious. But a new <a href="http://csanr.wsu.edu/program-areas/m2m/research-areas/nutritional-quality/bjn-2014/">study</a> is the most ambitious attempt so far to resolve the issue — and it concludes that organic fruit and vegetables offer a key benefit.<p>It's a scientific reply to an <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2012/09/04/160395259/why-organic-food-may-not-be-healthier-for-you">analysis</a> that some researchers at Stanford University published two years ago. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:46:00 +0000 Dan Charles 36620 at http://ripr.org Feds Tighten Lab Security After Anthrax, Bird Flu Blunders http://ripr.org/post/feds-tighten-lab-security-after-anthrax-bird-flu-blunders In the course of trying to understand a laboratory accident involving anthrax, officials at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention stumbled upon another major blunder — involving a deadly flu virus.<p>The flu incident apparently posed no health risk, but it went unreported to top brass for six weeks. Those officials now recognize a <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/07/09/330038131/researchers-aghast-over-discovery-of-smallpox-vials">pattern of problems</a> in their world-class laboratory. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Richard Harris 36619 at http://ripr.org Feds Tighten Lab Security After Anthrax, Bird Flu Blunders