Gordon Fox http://ripr.org en TGIF: 15 Things to Know About Rhode Island Media & Politics http://ripr.org/post/tgif-15-things-know-about-rhode-island-media-politics <p>Thanks for stopping by for my weekly column. Your tips and thoughts are always welcome at idonnis (at) ripr (dot) org, and my short missives can be found <a href="https://twitter.com/IanDon">on the twitters</a>. Let's head right in:</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 20:05:06 +0000 Ian Donnis 32257 at http://ripr.org Federal Officials Subpoena Providence City Records In Fox Investigation http://ripr.org/post/federal-officials-subpoena-providence-city-records-fox-investigation <p>There’s another development in the case that led to former House Speaker Gordon Fox’s resignation last month.&nbsp; Federal law enforcement officials on Wednesday subpoenaed City of Providence records related to Fox.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:52:46 +0000 Ian Donnis 32253 at http://ripr.org Campaign Finance Angle Emerges In Gordon Fox Probe http://ripr.org/post/campaign-finance-angle-emerges-gordon-fox-probe <p></p><p>The investigators who raided former House Speaker Gordon Fox's Statehouse office and East Side home <a href="http://ripr.org/post/state-police-federal-authorities-raid-house-speaker-s-office">on March 21 </a>appear to be examining Fox's campaign fundraising.</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:53:42 +0000 Ian Donnis 32138 at http://ripr.org Campaign Finance Angle Emerges In Gordon Fox Probe Former Prosecutor Corrente On Federal Corruption Probes http://ripr.org/post/former-prosecutor-corrente-federal-corruption-probes <p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Ian Donnis 32095 at http://ripr.org Former Prosecutor Corrente On Federal Corruption Probes Regunberg Jumps Into Race for Fox's State Rep Seat http://ripr.org/post/regunberg-jumps-race-foxs-state-rep-seat <p>Education activist Aaron Regunberg, one of the founders of the Providence Student Union advocacy group, says he's running for the District 4 state representative seat now held by former House speaker Gordon Fox.</p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:54:17 +0000 Ian Donnis 31481 at http://ripr.org For Fox and Cicilline, A Divergent Path Since Election Night 2012 http://ripr.org/post/fox-and-cicilline-divergent-path-election-night-2012 <p></p><p>On Election Night 2012, two good friends -- House Speaker Gordon Fox and Congressman David Cicilline -- spent time together, savoring their re-election victories after a hard-fought and sometimes unpleasant campaign season.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:01:19 +0000 Ian Donnis 31297 at http://ripr.org For Fox and Cicilline, A Divergent Path Since Election Night 2012 Scott MacKay Commentary: Time To Try Something New On Smith Hill? http://ripr.org/post/scott-mackay-commentary-time-try-something-new-smith-hill <p>The stench of corruption has once again encircled the Rhode Island Statehouse. Rhode Island Public Radio political analyst Scott MacKay says it may be time to try something different on Smith Hill.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Unless you have been living in one of those 1950s-era nuclear bomb shelters, or the old East Side tunnel, you’ve probably heard of the latest Statehouse scandal. The state police and federal IRS and FBI agents raided the offices of House Speaker Gordon Fox 10 days ago. The next day he abruptly resigned.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 12:47:05 +0000 Scott MacKay 31283 at http://ripr.org Scott MacKay Commentary: Time To Try Something New On Smith Hill? TGIF: 15 Things to Know About Rhode Island Politics & Media http://ripr.org/post/tgif-15-things-know-about-rhode-island-politics-media-6 <p>Welcome back to my Friday column. Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to drop me a line with feedback or juicy tips at idonnis (at) ripr (dot) org, and remember you can follow me all week long<a href="https://twitter.com/IanDon"> on the twitters</a>. Here we go.</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:08:36 +0000 Ian Donnis 31183 at http://ripr.org Time to try something new on Smith Hill? http://ripr.org/post/time-try-something-new-smith-hill <p>The stench of corruption has once again encircled the Rhode Island State House. RIPR political analyst Scott MacKay says it may be time to try something different on Smith Hill.</p><p>Unless you have been living in one of those 1950s-era nuclear bomb shelters, or the old East Side tunnel, you’ve probably heard of the latest Statehouse scandal. The state police and federal IRS and FBI agents raided the offices of House Speaker Gordon Fox 10 days ago. The next day he abruptly resigned.</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 18:18:53 +0000 Scott MacKay 31190 at http://ripr.org Bonus Q+A: Mattiello on the Pension Settlement, Tolls, Ethics, the Master Lever & More http://ripr.org/post/bonus-qa-mattiello-pension-settlement-tolls-ethics-master-lever-more <p>House Speaker Nicholas Mattiello and guest panelist Erika Niedowski of The Associated Press join Bonus Q+A this week to discuss changes in the RI House; the proposed pension settlement; whether the House should vote on a proposal to restore state Ethics Commission oversight of the General Assembly; and much more.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Ian Donnis 31142 at http://ripr.org