prescription drug monitoring program http://ripr.org en Debrief: New Health Laws Address Addiction, Breast Cancer http://ripr.org/post/debrief-new-health-laws-address-addiction-breast-cancer <p>Another legislative session has wrapped up. Health care reporter Kristin Gourlay joins host Dave Fallon in the studio to talk about how health care fared on Smith Hill.</p><p>Here's a transcript of their discussion.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:21:30 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35634 at http://ripr.org Chafee Signs New Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Into Law http://ripr.org/post/chafee-signs-new-prescription-drug-monitoring-program-law <p>Governor Lincoln Chafee has signed a bill into law requiring practitioners to register with the state’s prescription drug monitoring program.</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 13:42:06 +0000 Catherine Welch 34343 at http://ripr.org Rx Drug Monitoring, Insurance Coverage For Addiction Bills Clear Senate Hurdle http://ripr.org/post/rx-drug-monitoring-insurance-coverage-addiction-bills-clear-senate-hurdle <p>A state senate committee has recommended passage of two bills aimed at curbing prescription drug and heroin abuse.</p><p></p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 15:33:44 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 32860 at http://ripr.org Rx Drug Monitoring, Insurance Coverage For Addiction Bills Clear Senate Hurdle RI Lawmakers Mull New Drug Abuse, Overdose Bills http://ripr.org/post/ri-lawmakers-mull-new-drug-abuse-overdose-bills <p>The Senate Health and Human Services committee will be considering a suite of proposed bills that aim to tackle the state's prescription painkiller and heroin addiction and overdose crisis.</p><p>The committee's chair, Senator Joshua Miller (D-Dist. 28, Cranston, Providence), plans to introduce several of those bills, including:</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 18:38:18 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30274 at http://ripr.org To Curb Abuse, Lifespan ERs Adopt Rx Painkiller Guidelines http://ripr.org/post/curb-abuse-lifespan-ers-adopt-rx-painkiller-guidelines <p>Rhode Island Hospital and the entire Lifespan network have announced new guidelines for prescribing painkillers in their emergency rooms. ER doctors are trying to address the growing problem of prescription drug abuse and addiction.</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 20:07:26 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 26484 at http://ripr.org State Lawmakers: Close Gaps In Rx Monitoring Program http://ripr.org/post/state-lawmakers-close-gaps-rx-monitoring-program <p>State lawmakers are looking at ways to strengthen Rhode Island’s prescription drug monitoring program. They say there are too many gaps in the current system that allow people to abuse prescription drugs.</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 20:58:54 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25711 at http://ripr.org State Lawmakers: Close Gaps In Rx Monitoring Program Landmark's New Owner Must Use Rx Monitoring Program, Invest In Primary Care http://ripr.org/post/landmarks-new-owner-must-use-rx-monitoring-program-invest-primary-care <p>California-based Prime Healthcare Services won approval earlier this week to buy Woonsocket’s Landmark Medical Center. But the approval came with conditions. One is that the company keep Rhode Island regulators abreast of a federal investigation it’s under for allegedly over-billing Medicare. Another is that Prime invest in primary care and in preventing hospital re-admissions. The Department of Health expressed some concern about Prime’s practices at other hospitals, but department head Michael Fine said the terms of the deal to acquire Landmark should allay those concerns.</p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 24035 at http://ripr.org Landmark's New Owner Must Use Rx Monitoring Program, Invest In Primary Care RI Using Some Promising Tools to Combat Overdose Deaths http://ripr.org/post/ri-using-some-promising-tools-combat-overdose-deaths <p>A new <a href="http://healthyamericans.org/reports/drugabuse2013/release.php?stateid=RI">report </a>finds that while deaths from prescription drug overdose have doubled in Rhode Island, the state has implemented many of the measures experts say can prevent those deaths.</p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 17:10:32 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 22880 at http://ripr.org Fighting Prescription Drug Abuse, One Log In At a Time http://ripr.org/post/fighting-prescription-drug-abuse-one-log-time <p>For Rhode Islanders between 15 and 44 years old, the leading cause of death is accidental drug overdose, usually involving prescription painkillers. &nbsp;State health leaders are calling it an epidemic. There’s growing evidence that tracking the number of pills doctors prescribe to potential abusers might ease the problem. But Rhode Island’s fledgling prescription drug monitoring program is just getting started.</p><p><strong>The dark side of opiates</strong></p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 16918 at http://ripr.org Fighting Prescription Drug Abuse, One Log In At a Time Prescribing Painkillers: What the Health Dept. Recommends http://ripr.org/post/prescribing-painkillers-what-health-dept-recommends <p>Recently, I reported on Rhode Island's fledgling prescription drug monitoring program (listen to that story <a href="http://ripr.org/post/fighting-prescription-drug-abuse-one-log-time">here</a>). It's a program that's supposed to spot troubling trends in prescription drug misuse. And as you might know, there's plenty of trouble to spot in Rhode Island, where prescription drug overdose death rates have soared along with rates of addiction to narcotic painkillers.</p> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 18:36:52 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 17052 at http://ripr.org