Kristin Gourlay http://ripr.org en Where ACA Dollars Have Flowed Into RI http://ripr.org/post/where-aca-dollars-have-flowed-ri <p>The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid have announced the second round of Health Care Innovation awards. These are big grants for projects that are trying to reduce the cost of health care and/or improve care delivery, often for some of the sickest or most complicated patients.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:24:10 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36528 at http://ripr.org Where ACA Dollars Have Flowed Into RI How Rhode Island Is Doing In The Fight Against Lead Paint Poisoning http://ripr.org/post/how-rhode-island-doing-fight-against-lead-paint-poisoning <p>The U.S. outlawed lead paint in 1978. Yet it still covers the walls of many older homes, particularly here in the northeast. When that paint chips or peels, it poses a serious danger especially to kids. But in 2005, Rhode Island passed a law requiring some landlords to clean up lead paint. And a group of researchers recently set out to find out if it’s working. Hasbro Children’s Hospital pediatrician and Brown University school of public health associate professor doctor Patrick Vivier is one of those researchers. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:45:44 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36506 at http://ripr.org How Rhode Island Is Doing In The Fight Against Lead Paint Poisoning Getting The Lead Out: The Law Works, Except When It Doesn't http://ripr.org/post/getting-lead-out-law-works-except-when-it-doesnt <p>A law aimed at protecting children from unsafe levels of lead in their homes is working, according to a new study. But only when landlords comply with it.</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 18:51:24 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36341 at http://ripr.org Getting The Lead Out: The Law Works, Except When It Doesn't Thunderstorms Today, Ahead Of Arthur http://ripr.org/post/thunderstorms-today-ahead-arthur <p>Hurricane Arthur is churning towards New England. But forecasters are worried about an entirely <em>different</em> weather system hitting the area today.&nbsp;</p><p>National Weather Service meteorologist Glenn Field is hunkering down for a busy day. This afternoon and evening, Field says he’s watching a cold front that’s on track to bring severe weather and a couple of inches of rain to Rhode Island.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:04:42 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36187 at http://ripr.org Beach Bound? Get A Free Skin Cancer Screening http://ripr.org/post/beach-bound-get-free-skin-cancer-screening <p>Are you beach bound this weekend? That is, after Hurricane Arthur clears out?</p><p>If so, you already know to pack the sunscreen, slather it on (<a href="http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/?s=sunscreen">a lot of it, two coats</a>), and reapply after a couple of hours. But here's some more information about why to reapply, which kinds of sunscreens and what SPF are best (and what that means, anyway), and more about the latest developments in sunscreen technology - <strong>below</strong>.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:56:03 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36179 at http://ripr.org Local Reactions To The Hobby Lobby Decision http://ripr.org/post/local-reactions-hobby-lobby-decision <p>Reactions are still coming in to today's U.S. Supreme Court decision in favor of Hobby Lobby (that decision, that the company is not required to cover contraceptives as part of employees' health insurance, can be read <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/13pdf/13-354_olp1.pdf">here</a>.). Here are a few so far. Keep in mind, more decisions related to this one are expected.</p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 19:01:52 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36015 at http://ripr.org Measles Resurgence Touches RI; Possible ER Exposure http://ripr.org/post/measles-resurgence-touches-ri-possible-er-exposure <p>Health officials say several adults may have been exposed to a person with the measles last weekend. The exposure might have happened in the early morning hours of Sunday, June 22nd in the emergency department at Rhode Island Hospital or later that evening in the emergency department at Roger Williams Hospital. Hospital officials say a man later diagnosed with measles presented&nbsp;at Rhode Island Hospital between 3 and 6 in the morning. He left against medical advice. Around 6 pm that evening he went to Roger Williams Hospital with a worsening fever. Sun, 29 Jun 2014 01:12:52 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35956 at http://ripr.org Measles Resurgence Touches RI; Possible ER Exposure Locals React to Supreme Court Abortion Ruling http://ripr.org/post/locals-react-supreme-court-abortion-ruling <p>The U.S. Supreme Court’s decision to overturn a Massachusetts law meant to keep protesters 35 feet away from abortion clinics is drawing local reaction.</p><p>Rhode Island ACLU head Steve Brown says he thinks the court struck the right balance in this ruling, a balance between the right to free speech and the right to have an abortion. He says the court appropriately noted that clinics have other ways of dealing with protestors who cross a line.</p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:39:20 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35849 at http://ripr.org Locals React to Supreme Court Abortion Ruling Debrief: New Health Laws Address Addiction, Breast Cancer http://ripr.org/post/debrief-new-health-laws-address-addiction-breast-cancer <p>Another legislative session has wrapped up. Health care reporter Kristin Gourlay joins host Dave Fallon in the studio to talk about how health care fared on Smith Hill.</p><p>Here's a transcript of their discussion.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:21:30 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35634 at http://ripr.org Lifespan, BCBSRI Ink Accountable Care Deal http://ripr.org/post/lifespan-bcbsri-ink-accountable-care-deal <p>The state’s largest hospital chain and largest insurer have inked an agreement to share patient data that will help them look for ways to improve health and save money. The deal is the largest of its kind in the state and could shape health care for more than 35,000 Rhode Islanders.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:00:15 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35769 at http://ripr.org