Frank James http://ripr.org en John Boehner Foe Targets 'Electile' Dysfunction http://ripr.org/post/john-boehner-foe-targets-electile-dysfunction <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9A8kq85Umco</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:19:00 +0000 Frank James 32048 at http://ripr.org 5 Takeaways From The Equal Pay Debate http://ripr.org/post/5-takeways-equal-pay-debate This was the week that included Equal Pay Day, the point on the 2014 calendar to which the average female worker must work to match the average man's 2013 pay.<p>To mark the occasion, President Obama held a White House event Tuesday to sign executive orders aimed at providing more transparency about what federal contractors pay their workers. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 21:46:00 +0000 Frank James 31944 at http://ripr.org 5 Takeaways From The Equal Pay Debate Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense http://ripr.org/post/obama-and-al-sharpton-odd-couple-who-make-political-sense President Obama and Rev. Al Sharpton might at first seem like one of the odder couples in U.S. politics.<p>The president is by nature a super-cautious politician, measured in his rhetoric. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:38:00 +0000 Frank James 31884 at http://ripr.org Obama And Al Sharpton: An Odd Couple Who Make Political Sense Holder Plays Asparagus Card Against GOP Antagonist http://ripr.org/post/holder-plays-asparagus-card-against-gop-antagonist <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTOCih4ZAAE</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 19:56:00 +0000 Frank James 31728 at http://ripr.org Holder Plays Asparagus Card Against GOP Antagonist The Politics Of Equal Pay: It's More Than A Women's Issue http://ripr.org/post/politics-equal-pay-its-more-womens-issue The pay equity issue, which President Obama and Democrats are making a central theme of the 2014 midterm election campaign, is often framed as a women's issue. But Democrats are expecting it will also have crossover appeal to men.<p>For many men, it's a matter of self-interest: Two-income families are part of a long-term trend, as many families find two paychecks essential to cover the bills in an era of rising prices and stagnant, if not falling, wages.<p><a href="http://www.bls.gov/news.release/famee.nr0.htm">U.S. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 19:56:00 +0000 Frank James 31729 at http://ripr.org The Politics Of Equal Pay: It's More Than A Women's Issue You Could Be A 'New Republican' If You Agree With This Ad http://ripr.org/post/you-could-be-new-republican-if-you-agree-ad <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H3ShchXHhOY</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Frank James 31564 at http://ripr.org You Could Be A 'New Republican' If You Agree With This Ad NPR Poll: GOP's Older Voter Advantage Slips From 4 Years Ago http://ripr.org/post/npr-poll-gops-older-voter-advantage-slips-4-years-ago The new <a href="http://media.npr.org/documents/2014/april/DCor_RR_graphs.pdf">NPR poll</a> had good news for Republicans and Democrats. As NPR correspondent Mara Liasson <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/04/03/298401923/npr-poll-obamacare-more-popular-than-president">reported</a> for <em>Morning Edition</em>, likely voters were nearly split evenly between support and opposition to the Affordable Care Act, with 51 percent against and 47 percent for.<p>That could be interpreted by partisans on both sides as helpful to their cause. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 19:23:00 +0000 Frank James 31497 at http://ripr.org NPR Poll: GOP's Older Voter Advantage Slips From 4 Years Ago Campaign Finance Ruling Winners: The Political Pros http://ripr.org/post/campaign-finance-ruling-winners-political-pros The Supreme Court's <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/13pdf/12-536_e1pf.pdf">McCutcheon decision</a> has been described both as a victory for the First Amendment and as another damaging blow to campaign finance laws.<p>One thing seems certain: The decision, which overturned limits on the aggregate amounts individual donors can give to candidates and campaigns, will mean more money sloshing around political campaigns.<p>In practical terms, that means more business for the political consultants who orchestrate most serious federal political campaigns.<p>"Campaigns have been on the sh Wed, 02 Apr 2014 22:36:00 +0000 Frank James 31454 at http://ripr.org Campaign Finance Ruling Winners: The Political Pros Chicago Mayor Could Face Tough Re-Election Challenge http://ripr.org/post/chicago-mayor-could-face-tough-re-election-challenge Will Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel, who served at President Obama's side during his first White House term, find himself facing a challenge from another politician who was once close to Obama?<p>Maybe, if the woman who is president of the Cook County Board, <a href="http://www.tonipreckwinkle.org/">Toni Preckwinkle</a>, decides to run to against the mayor next year.<p>It's still a big "if." Preckwinkle, who was an <a href="http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2008/07/21/080721fa_fact_lizza?currentPage=all">early political mentor</a> of Obama's, hasn't said she'll run against Obama's former White Ho Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:17:00 +0000 Frank James 31373 at http://ripr.org Chicago Mayor Could Face Tough Re-Election Challenge When Politics Is Really Hardball — Baseball's Opening Day http://ripr.org/post/when-politics-really-hardball-baseballs-opening-day Opening day of the 2014 Major League Baseball season started without the world's most famous southpaw, President Obama, throwing out the first pitch at Washington Nationals Park.<p>The Nationals were in New York City, where they began their season against the New York Mets with a 9-7 win.<p>But political, if not pitching, firepower was still represented on the mound. The 6-foot 5-inch Mayor Bill de Blasio of New York threw out the first pitch. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 23:18:00 +0000 Frank James 31329 at http://ripr.org When Politics Is Really Hardball — Baseball's Opening Day