Morning Edition http://ripr.org en HBO Scores Big In Emmy Nominations http://ripr.org/post/hbo-scores-big-emmy-nominations David Greene talks to TV Guide magazine executive editor Michael Schneider about Thursday's announcement of the 66th Emmy Award nominations. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:39:00 +0000 editor 36516 at http://ripr.org Duke Bourbon Raises Challenge From University http://ripr.org/post/duke-bourbon-raises-challenge-university Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. Selling American whiskey is all about marketing. You can buy bottles with scenes of prohibition or that evoke the old West, and you may someday see a bottle featuring the image of John Wayne. The actor was known as the duke, and his heirs wants to call their product Duke Bourbon. The only problem is an objection from Duke University - no relation. The school has raised a legal challenge, contending the whiskey would tarnish the Duke name. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:47:00 +0000 editor 36503 at http://ripr.org Fake Edward Snowden Joins Tinder http://ripr.org/post/fake-edward-snowden-joins-tinder Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. The popular dating app, Tinder, has a new user - Edward Snowden - actually, Lonely Ed with the profile picture of the NSA whistleblower from Moscow, looking for love. Gawker has posted a few interactions between Lonely Ed and other users like, awesome, I'm so glad we match. Send me nudes.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Be honest are you CIA - KGB?<p>MONTAGNE: Tell me your secrets, Ed.<p>INSKEEP: You first.<p>MONTAGNE: It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:13:00 +0000 editor 36500 at http://ripr.org 'Breaking Bad' Expected To Get Emmy Nod For Final Season http://ripr.org/post/breaking-bad-expected-get-emmy-nod-final-season Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>In Hollywood this morning we find out who the nominees are for this year's Emmys. MORNING EDITION's David Greene talked to Kim Masters, editor-at-large at The Hollywood Reporter, about who in television might get that age-old honor of just being nominated.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Kim, welcome back to the program. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:08:00 +0000 editor 36501 at http://ripr.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide http://ripr.org/post/chinas-booming-real-estate-market-finally-begins-slide After years of stunning growth, China's go-go real estate market is now in retreat.<p>Prices fell last month in 79 out of 100 cities, according to the China Real Estate Index run by SouFun Holdings, a real estate website. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:35:00 +0000 Frank Langfitt 36499 at http://ripr.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide University Of Michigan Plant Is Definitely A Late Bloomer http://ripr.org/post/university-michigan-plant-definitely-late-bloomer Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And let's go from still life to real life. A plant that may be the ultimate late bloomer. An 80-year-old plant at the University of Michigan is blossoming for the first time.<p>MIKE PALMER: This plant is an American agave that was brought back from an expedition in 1934 from Mexico.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>That's Mike Palmer, of the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum.<p>PALMER: It kind of looks like an octopus with variegated foliages and they've asked me for years, when is it going to bloom? Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 36496 at http://ripr.org FBI, NSA Spied On American Muslims, Report Says http://ripr.org/post/fbi-nsa-spied-american-muslims-report-says Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. It's been more than a year since Edward Snowden fled the country with top-secret, digital documents from the National Security Agency, and revelations about what he took keep coming. The latest appeared yesterday, in the online publication The Intercept. Its headline is, "Meet The Muslim-American Leaders The FBI And NSA Have Been Spying On," and it was co-written by Glenn Greenwald. Five prominent Muslim citizens are profiled. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 David Welna 36497 at http://ripr.org Detroit Shuts Off Water As It Tries To Collect Millions Owed http://ripr.org/post/detroit-shuts-water-it-tries-collect-millions-overdue-bills Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Let's follow up now on the water war in Detroit. So far this year, the water utility has shut off the spigots to 17,000 customers. It wants people to do pay their overdue bills. Many residents are upset with how the city is doing this and ask if some are getting special treatment. Here's Sarah Cwiek of Michigan Radio.<p>SARAH CWIEK, BYLINE: People are going thirsty in Detroit, a city with more direct access to fresh clean water than virtually any place in the world. That irony shows up in numerous ways. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 36498 at http://ripr.org J.K. Rowling Posts New Harry Potter Short Story http://ripr.org/post/jk-rowling-posts-new-harry-potter-short-story Harry Potter is attending the Quidditch World Cup with his family, as well as Ron and Hermione. He is in his 30s, with "a couple of threads of silver" in his hair and a mysterious cut on his cheek. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:58:00 +0000 editor 36445 at http://ripr.org iPhone From Oklahoma Ends Up In Grain Shipment To Japan http://ripr.org/post/iphone-oklahoma-ends-grain-shipment-japan A Japanese worker found the phone and tracked down the American owner. Farmer Kevin Whitney recovered the phone, which had pictures of his daughter's wedding on it. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:50:00 +0000 editor 36446 at http://ripr.org