rhode island department of health http://ripr.org en New Program Helps Elderly Deal With Climate Change http://ripr.org/post/new-program-helps-elderly-deal-climate-change <p>A program designed to help Rhode Island's older adult population prepare for climate change threats is one of several projects that will receive federal money as part of the state's disaster recovery action plan.&nbsp; This program will receive $150,000 over the next two years.</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 12:53:22 +0000 Ambar Espinoza 37036 at http://ripr.org Getting The Lead Out: The Law Works, Except When It Doesn't http://ripr.org/post/getting-lead-out-law-works-except-when-it-doesnt <p>A law aimed at protecting children from unsafe levels of lead in their homes is working, according to a new study. But only when landlords comply with it.</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 18:51:24 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36341 at http://ripr.org Getting The Lead Out: The Law Works, Except When It Doesn't MinuteClinics And The Future Of Primary Care http://ripr.org/post/minuteclinics-and-future-primary-care <p>The Rhode Island Department of Health's recent decision to grant approval, with 22 conditions, to CVS to open seven retail health clinics in pharmacies throughout Rhode Island came down in the form of a 43-page document. In my humble opinion, it's a well-written, even eloquent ode to the importance of primary care and the challenges of regulating health care in a state where for-profit health care is no longer around the corner but setting up shop on it. Thu, 15 May 2014 19:28:31 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 33619 at http://ripr.org CVS Gets Green Light To Open Retail Clinics In RI http://ripr.org/post/cvs-gets-green-light-open-retail-clinics-ri <p>The nation’s largest pharmacy chain has been given the green light to open seven retail health care clinics in Rhode Island. CVS pharmacies’ MinuteClinics would see patients for minor illnesses and perform some routine health screenings. But state health officials' approval comes with several conditions.</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 17:32:17 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 33618 at http://ripr.org CVS Gets Green Light To Open Retail Clinics In RI CurrentCare Must Spell Out How To Change, Remove Records http://ripr.org/post/currentcare-must-spell-out-how-change-remove-records <p>A statewide electronic health records program must be more transparent and offer patients more privacy protections. That’s the result of a suit brought by the Rhode Island chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union.</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:45:50 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 32438 at http://ripr.org Brown, Health Department To Screen Documentary "Shored Up" http://ripr.org/post/brown-health-department-screen-documentary-shored <p>The critically-acclaimed documentary “Shored Up” will be playing at Brown University this evening.</p><p>The school’s Center for Environmental Studies and the Rhode Island Department of Health are sponsoring the movie screening and a panel discussion after the movie.</p><p>The documentary looks at how different coastal communities along the eastern seaboard are trying to deal with rising sea levels.</p><p>Policy and environmental science experts will sit on the panel, including the town planner of Westerly, where four natural disasters have hit in the past four years.</p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 14:18:34 +0000 Ambar Espinoza 29676 at http://ripr.org Brown, Health Department To Screen Documentary "Shored Up" Should Flu & HPV Shots Be Required For School Kids? http://ripr.org/post/should-flu-hpv-shots-be-required-school-kids <p>The state’s health department is considering updates to its immunization policy for school kids from preschool through college. The proposals would require flu shots for kids up to age five and the HPV vaccine for kids entering ninth grade.</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 16:33:16 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 28277 at http://ripr.org Flu Now Officially Widespread In RI http://ripr.org/post/flu-now-officially-widespread-ri <p>It was only a matter of time…</p><p>The flu is now widespread in Rhode Island.</p><p></p><p></p><p>That means there are outbreaks of the flu in more than half the state. It also kicks into effect a state requirement that health care professionals who have NOT been vaccinated wear surgical masks whenever they’re in contact with patients. The health department reports that flu-related hospitalizations are up as well.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 18:19:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27391 at http://ripr.org Flu Now Officially Widespread In RI Flu Spreads In Rhode Island, Hospitalizations Increase http://ripr.org/post/flu-spreads-rhode-island-hospitalizations-increase <p>While the flu is now widespread in Massachusetts, it’s still sporadic in Rhode Island. But 16 Rhode Islanders have already been hospitalized, and officials expect the number of cases to spike.</p><p>Health department officials say so far there have been no flu deaths, but in past years flu has killed well over a hundred people in Rhode Island. They say one of this year’s dominant strains in Rhode Island and nationally is H1N1, but that’s also one of the strains this year’s vaccine protects against.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 16:38:45 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27019 at http://ripr.org Flu Spreads In Rhode Island, Hospitalizations Increase RI Smoking Rates Down, But Costs Still High http://ripr.org/post/ri-smoking-rates-down-costs-still-high <p>The Department of Health has a <a href="http://www.health.ri.gov/publications/burdendocuments/2013AdultTobaccoUse.pdf">new report </a>out on how many Rhode Islanders smoke. While the number of adult smokers has declined, nearly one in five Rhode Islanders still smokes.</p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 20:09:18 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25072 at http://ripr.org RI Smoking Rates Down, But Costs Still High