marijuana http://ripr.org en Supporters Of Recreational Marijuana To Make Their Case At Statehouse http://ripr.org/post/supporters-recreational-marijuana-make-their-case-statehouse <p>Supporters of legalizing the retail sale of marijuana to adults will make their case at the statehouse Tuesday.&nbsp; It’s not the first time lawmakers have attempted to decriminalize pot.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 12:43:59 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 34580 at http://ripr.org Supporters Of Recreational Marijuana To Make Their Case At Statehouse House Committee Considers Bills to Legalize Pot, Expand Medical Marijuana http://ripr.org/post/house-committee-considers-bills-legalize-pot-expand-medical-marijuana <p>State lawmakers are scheduled to consider several marijuana-related bills this evening. At issue is expanding access to medical marijuana and, once again, legalizing the drug for anyone over the age of 21.</p><p>Seven marijuana-related bills are before the House Committee on Judiciary. One would legalize marijuana for all adults, regulating it like alcohol and taxing sales. That’s been proposed before and failed, but other states have since legalized it.</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 19:51:32 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 32151 at http://ripr.org RI Students Arrested for Drug-Laced Candy http://ripr.org/post/ri-students-arrested-drug-laced-candy <p>Police say they have made several arrests after a Richmond teenager required medical attention from consuming marijuana-laced candy. One 14-year-old was charged with drug crimes in connection with the incident while another was caught with drug-laced candy and prescription pills. A Chariho High School student was arrested for drug crimes on Monday.</p><p>Richmond Police Chief Elwood Johnson said the candy could have contained more than just THC.</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 17:38:05 +0000 Benjamin Bryant 31713 at http://ripr.org NE Chapters of NAACP Back Legalization of Marijuana in RI http://ripr.org/post/ne-chapters-naacp-back-legalization-marijuana-ri <p>The<a href="http://www.theneac.org/"> New England Area Conference of the NAACP</a>, comprising chapters in Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine, is supporting legislation to legalize marijuana here and regulate it like alcohol.</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 22:41:09 +0000 Ian Donnis 29918 at http://ripr.org Marijuana Debate Heats Up; Lifespan, Kennedy At Odds http://ripr.org/post/marijuana-debate-heats-lifespan-kennedy-odds <p>A bill is making its way through Rhode Island's General Assembly that would legalize marijuana and regulate and tax it like alcohol. Possessing small amounts has already been decriminalized here. And interest has been growing in legalization for a while.</p><p>Proponents say that legalizing the drug would keep harmless people out of jail. Opponents say marijuana is just as dangerous as any other drug and should remain illegal.</p><p>The arguments are heating up.</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 19:43:29 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 29477 at http://ripr.org Barrington Police: Pot Package Left Outside Carmelite Monastery http://ripr.org/post/barrington-police-pot-package-left-outside-carmelite-monastery <p>Barrington police are investigating an unusual drug case. On Sunday, someone left a bag of marijuana outside the Carmelite Monastery in Barrington.</p><p>Around 2:30pm Sunday a sister at the Carmelite Monastery in Barrington saw a person drop a package underneath a bush near the parking lot.&nbsp; The sisters went out to investigate and were surprised to find the bag contained what appeared to be marijuana.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 20:38:58 +0000 Flo Jonic 26127 at http://ripr.org Black Residents More Likely to be Arrested for Marijuana Possession Than Whites http://ripr.org/post/black-residents-more-likely-be-arrested-marijuana-possession-whites <p>A new report from the American Civil Liberties Union shows blacks are much more likely to be arrested for marijuana possession than whites, even though national studies show both races use the drug at roughly similar rates. The study calls for the legalization of marijuana for recreational use.</p><p></p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 11:59:01 +0000 Flo Jonic 16378 at http://ripr.org Black Residents More Likely to be Arrested for Marijuana Possession Than Whites Majority Support Medical Pot in New NEJM Poll http://ripr.org/post/majority-support-medical-pot-new-nejm-poll <p>To recommend, or not to recommend, medicinal marijuana? That's the question recently posed in a New England Journal of Medicine <a href="http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMclde1305159">interactive online poll. </a>To get a feel for physicians' opinions, NEJM presented readers with a fictional clinical situation. Here's the scenario:</p> Wed, 29 May 2013 21:10:07 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 16025 at http://ripr.org First Medical Marijuana Center Opens in Rhode Island http://ripr.org/post/first-medical-marijuana-center-opens-rhode-island <p>Friday is the first day of business for the first medical marijuana compassion center in Rhode Island.</p><p>There was a line out the door of the Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center in Providence, on opening day for the first medical marijuana dispensary here in Rhode Island.&nbsp; The 1,600 square foot building houses cultivation and processing facilities as well as the center itself.</p><p>Despite state approval for the center, the federal government still classifies marijuana as illegal, said Chris Reilly, a spokesperson for the center.</p> Fri, 19 Apr 2013 18:43:55 +0000 John Bender 13850 at http://ripr.org Possessing Small Amounts of Pot Decriminalized http://ripr.org/post/possessing-small-amounts-pot-decriminalized <p>A state law decriminalizing the possession of small amounts of marijuana takes effect today. But support for the new law is mixed.</p> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 12790 at http://ripr.org