lifespan http://ripr.org en Lifespan Hits Employees Who Use Tobacco With Surcharge http://ripr.org/post/lifespan-hits-employees-who-use-tobacco-surcharge <p>Lifespan, one of Rhode Island's largest employers, is implementing a new policy that will make employees who use tobacco products pay a surcharge.</p><p>The policy will tack on an extra $600 a year to the medical benefits of any employee or spouse or domestic partner covered by company insurance who uses tobacco products. That includes cigarettes, chewing tobacco and e-cigarettes.</p><p>Lifespan will also offer employees free smoking cessation programs.</p><p>Lifespan’s CEO says it’s a way to encourage employees to quit. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 20:17:07 +0000 Catherine Welch 36718 at http://ripr.org Bradley School Splits from Bradley Hospital Campus http://ripr.org/post/bradley-school-splits-bradley-hospital-campus <p>The Bradley School is leaving its home on the grounds of Bradley Hospital for a new facility in Providence. Bradley officials say they plan to make the move on September first.</p><p>A letter sent to Bradley parents says the school will now share space with the Urban Collaborative Accelerated Program, a school for students who have fallen behind and are at serious risk for dropping out. The letter touts larger classrooms, a cafeteria and a newly constructed gymnasium.</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 13:04:35 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 36327 at http://ripr.org Lifespan, BCBSRI Ink Accountable Care Deal http://ripr.org/post/lifespan-bcbsri-ink-accountable-care-deal <p>The state’s largest hospital chain and largest insurer have inked an agreement to share patient data that will help them look for ways to improve health and save money. The deal is the largest of its kind in the state and could shape health care for more than 35,000 Rhode Islanders.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:00:15 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35769 at http://ripr.org Marijuana Debate Heats Up; Lifespan, Kennedy At Odds http://ripr.org/post/marijuana-debate-heats-lifespan-kennedy-odds <p>A bill is making its way through Rhode Island's General Assembly that would legalize marijuana and regulate and tax it like alcohol. Possessing small amounts has already been decriminalized here. And interest has been growing in legalization for a while.</p><p>Proponents say that legalizing the drug would keep harmless people out of jail. Opponents say marijuana is just as dangerous as any other drug and should remain illegal.</p><p>The arguments are heating up.</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 19:43:29 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 29477 at http://ripr.org To Curb Abuse, Lifespan ERs Adopt Rx Painkiller Guidelines http://ripr.org/post/curb-abuse-lifespan-ers-adopt-rx-painkiller-guidelines <p>Rhode Island Hospital and the entire Lifespan network have announced new guidelines for prescribing painkillers in their emergency rooms. ER doctors are trying to address the growing problem of prescription drug abuse and addiction.</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 20:07:26 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 26484 at http://ripr.org Ed Quinlan to Retire from Hospital Assn. of RI http://ripr.org/post/ed-quinlan-retire-hospital-assn-ri <p>Ed Quinlan, longtime executive director of the Hospital Association of Rhode Island and a public relations executive with a long resume in medical, political and sports public relations, is retiring from his job at HARI early next year.</p><p>Quinlan, soon to be 64, says he will be leaving HARI, which is a trade association for Rhode Island’s hospitals, but that he doesn’t intend to retire in the traditional sense. ``I am looking to so something that takes a little less of me and allows more time for my wife in my life,’’ said Quinlan.</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 21:00:08 +0000 Scott MacKay 24406 at http://ripr.org More Layoffs As Lifespan Tries to Trim $150M http://ripr.org/post/more-layoffs-lifespan-tries-trim-150m <p>The state’s largest hospital network is making another attempt to trim nearly $150 million in expenses over the next two and a half years. Lifespan has announced another round of layoffs.</p> Wed, 22 May 2013 18:32:36 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 15665 at http://ripr.org More Layoffs As Lifespan Tries to Trim $150M RI's Latest Health Care Merger: Good for You and Your Bottom Line? http://ripr.org/post/ris-latest-health-care-merger-good-you-and-your-bottom-line <p>The Lifespan hospital system’s recent acquisition of Gateway, a mental health care network, may be a sign of more to come. But it could be too soon to tell what it means for a patient’s pocketbook.</p> Tue, 21 May 2013 19:24:22 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 15603 at http://ripr.org RI's Latest Health Care Merger: Good for You and Your Bottom Line? Stem Cell Research Targets Cancer, Lung Disease http://ripr.org/post/stem-cell-research-targets-cancer-lung-disease <p>Lifespan Hospital system’s growing research complex in Providence’s Jewelry District will benefit from a large National Institutes of Health grant to open new labs and fund new projects. Some of that research could translate into new treatments for Rhode Island patients.</p> Fri, 29 Mar 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 12716 at http://ripr.org Stem Cell Research Targets Cancer, Lung Disease Lifespan Facing "Significant" Budget Shortfall http://ripr.org/post/lifespan-facing-significant-budget-shortfall <p>The state’s largest hospital system is facing some unanticipated budget shortfalls. Lifespan isn’t saying yet whether the fix will include layoffs.</p><p>Lifespan released a statement saying it had asked employees and physicians to review their budgets and look for ways to trim expenses. No word yet on what immediate steps the organization might take to stem the financial losses - but Lifespan says they won’t compromise patient care and that they’ll "work hard to minimize the impact on...employees."</p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 16:34:59 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 12405 at http://ripr.org