Rhode Island Resource Recovery Corporation http://ripr.org en Composting Programs Priority For RI's Central Landfill http://ripr.org/post/composting-programs-priority-ris-central-landfill <p>With the shrinking capacity of the Central Landfill, the executive director of the Rhode Island Resource Recovery Corporation wants recycling and composting food waste to become a priority, not just for the agency, but for the state.</p><p>Executive director Michael O’Connell said there’s no time to waste. The landfill’s gates will close in about 25 years at the current rate we’re sending trash to it. He wants people to feel a sense of urgency about the group effort it’s going to take to increase recycling and composting food waste.</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 12:39:40 +0000 Ambar Espinoza 30929 at http://ripr.org Efforts To Improve Recycling Rates In Providence Paying Off http://ripr.org/post/efforts-improve-recycling-rates-providence-paying <p>Residents in the city of Providence are recycling more than they were nearly a year ago.</p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The city delivered small gray trash barrels in the fall of 2012, so that residents could use their green 95-gallon trash bins as recycling bins instead.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The city sent out mailings, recorded phone messages, and launched an advertising campaign to let people know of the switch. But that wasn’t enough.</span></p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 10:30:00 +0000 Ambar Espinoza 28533 at http://ripr.org Efforts To Improve Recycling Rates In Providence Paying Off Work Begins On Wastewater Treatment Facility In Johnston http://ripr.org/post/work-begins-wastewater-treatment-facility-johnston <p>The wastewater coming out of the Central Landfill in Johnston should be a lot cleaner in years to come as a result of action taken Wednesday.&nbsp; It's an ambitious plan to clean up the water that flows into Narragansett Bay.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 31 Oct 2013 12:25:03 +0000 Flo Jonic 24065 at http://ripr.org Work Begins On Wastewater Treatment Facility In Johnston RI Considers Burning Some Trash http://ripr.org/post/ri-considers-burning-some-trash <p>The state has a long standing ban on incinerating trash. However a new bill introduced in the senate could allow the Central Landfill to look at incinerating some of the state’s trash.</p><p></p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 12:49:06 +0000 Bradley Campbell 12240 at http://ripr.org RI Considers Burning Some Trash Bill Would Allow State Landfill Use Glass as a Cover http://ripr.org/post/bill-would-allow-state-landfill-use-glass-cover <p>A bill introduced in the state Senate allows the Rhode Island Resource Recovery Corporation to once again use recycled glass as part of its daily cover material atop the landfill. The original amendment banned construction and demolition materials, including glass, for use as daily cover material at the landfill.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 12:34:54 +0000 Bradley Campbell 12235 at http://ripr.org Junk Finds Home Through Reuse Marketplace http://ripr.org/post/junk-finds-home-through-reuse-marketplace <p style="margin-left:-.25in;">The Rhode Island Resource Recovery Corporation has launched Rhode Island’s participation in a regional program—the “Reuse Marketplace.” This online marketplace allows businesses to find homes for extra items in their offices or warehouses that would otherwise be sent to the landfill.</p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 19:46:03 +0000 Jehane Samaha 11630 at http://ripr.org