Gordon Fox http://ripr.org en Political Roundtable: de Ramel on Lobbyists, Newport Grand & The Race for Governor http://ripr.org/post/political-roundtable-de-ramel-lobbyists-newport-grand-race-governor <p></p><p>Democratic secretary of state candidate Guillaume de Ramel joins Political Roundtable to discuss his campaign; disclosure shortcomings involving lobbyists; the Democratic race for governor; and other issues.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Ian Donnis 36517 at http://ripr.org Political Roundtable: de Ramel on Lobbyists, Newport Grand & The Race for Governor State Police To Interview Lawmakers On 38 Studios http://ripr.org/post/state-police-interview-lawmakers-38-studios <p>House Speaker Nicholas Mattiello is applauding plans by state police to speak with lawmakers about a 2010 vote that set the stage for 38 Studios to come to Rhode Island. A Job Creation Guaranty Program approved by the legislature was later used to channel $75 million to the ill-fated video game company.</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 17:50:20 +0000 Ian Donnis 35382 at http://ripr.org State Police To Interview Lawmakers On 38 Studios Judge Declines to Quash Subpoena for Fox Over 38 Studios http://ripr.org/post/judge-declines-quash-subpoena-fox-over-38-studios <p>A Superior Court judge has declined to quash a subpoena calling for former House speaker Gordon Fox to answer questions related to the state’s lawsuit over 38 Studios.</p><p>The ruling by Superior Court Judge Michael Silverstein means that Fox must attend a deposition conducted by one of the 14 defendants being sued by the state over 38 Studios.</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 18:14:30 +0000 Ian Donnis 34599 at http://ripr.org Scott MacKay Commentary: RI Lawmakers Swept 38 Studios Under The Rug http://ripr.org/post/scott-mackay-commentary-ri-lawmakers-swept-38-studios-under-rug <p>What’s worse than the 38 Studios fiasco for Rhode Island ‘s political and economic reputation? RIPR political analyst&nbsp; Scott MacKay points to the aftermath.</p><p></p><p></p><p>It’s been nearly four years since&nbsp; then- Gov. Donald Carcieri, the state Economic Development Corporation and the General Assembly foisted the disaster that is 38 Studios on Rhode Island taxpayers.</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 20:06:31 +0000 Scott MacKay 33226 at http://ripr.org Scott MacKay Commentary: RI Lawmakers Swept 38 Studios Under The Rug Ex-Speaker Fox selling Providence Home http://ripr.org/post/ex-speaker-fox-selling-providence-home <p>Former Rhode Island House Speaker Gordon Fox of Providence has put his Providence home on the market.</p><p>Fox, who resigned as speaker after state police and FBI and IRS agents raided his State House office and his East Side home on March 21, is asking &nbsp;$615,00 for his house on Gorton Street on the East Side of the city.</p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:11:51 +0000 Scott MacKay 32396 at http://ripr.org TGIF: 15 Things to Know About Rhode Island Media & Politics http://ripr.org/post/tgif-15-things-know-about-rhode-island-media-politics <p>Thanks for stopping by for my weekly column. Your tips and thoughts are always welcome at idonnis (at) ripr (dot) org, and my short missives can be found <a href="https://twitter.com/IanDon">on the twitters</a>. Let's head right in:</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 20:05:06 +0000 Ian Donnis 32257 at http://ripr.org Federal Officials Subpoena Providence City Records In Fox Investigation http://ripr.org/post/federal-officials-subpoena-providence-city-records-fox-investigation <p>There’s another development in the case that led to former House Speaker Gordon Fox’s resignation last month.&nbsp; Federal law enforcement officials on Wednesday subpoenaed City of Providence records related to Fox.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:52:46 +0000 Ian Donnis 32253 at http://ripr.org Federal Officials Subpoena Providence City Records In Fox Investigation Campaign Finance Angle Emerges In Gordon Fox Probe http://ripr.org/post/campaign-finance-angle-emerges-gordon-fox-probe <p></p><p>The investigators who raided former House Speaker Gordon Fox's Statehouse office and East Side home <a href="http://ripr.org/post/state-police-federal-authorities-raid-house-speaker-s-office">on March 21 </a>appear to be examining Fox's campaign fundraising.</p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 15:53:42 +0000 Ian Donnis 32138 at http://ripr.org Campaign Finance Angle Emerges In Gordon Fox Probe Former Prosecutor Corrente On Federal Corruption Probes http://ripr.org/post/former-prosecutor-corrente-federal-corruption-probes <p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Ian Donnis 32095 at http://ripr.org Former Prosecutor Corrente On Federal Corruption Probes Regunberg Jumps Into Race for Fox's State Rep Seat http://ripr.org/post/regunberg-jumps-race-foxs-state-rep-seat <p>Education activist Aaron Regunberg, one of the founders of the Providence Student Union advocacy group, says he's running for the District 4 state representative seat now held by former House speaker Gordon Fox.</p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:54:17 +0000 Ian Donnis 31481 at http://ripr.org