health insurance exchange http://ripr.org en The Bottom Line: HealthSource RI Nears The Finish Line http://ripr.org/post/bottom-line-healthsource-ri-nears-finish-line <p>Providence Business News Editor Mark Murphy joins Rhode Island Public Radio's Dave Fallon for our weekly business segment called The Bottom Line.</p><p>This week, HealthSource RI director Christine Ferguson joins Dave and Mark to talk about the approaching deadline for open enrollment, how to attract more small businesses, young 'invincibles,' and Latinos to the health insurance exchange, and funding the exchange into the future.</p><p></p><p><strong>When to Listen</strong><br />You can hear The Bottom Line each Friday at 5:50pm.</p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Dave Fallon 30416 at http://ripr.org The Bottom Line: HealthSource RI Nears The Finish Line HealthSource RI Seeks To Extend Federal Funding For FY '15 http://ripr.org/post/healthsource-ri-seeks-extend-federal-funding-fy-15 <p>Rhode Island took advantage of millions in federal dollars to build and launch its own health insurance exchange. Now as that federal money is about to run out, HealthSource RI director Christine Ferguson says she’s got a plan for the 2015 fiscal year, which starts this July.</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 19:43:26 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30410 at http://ripr.org How Are Other States Funding Health Exchanges? http://ripr.org/post/how-are-other-states-funding-health-exchanges <p>Looks like a mixed bag. Check out this <a href="http://www.commonwealthfund.org/Maps-and-Data/State-Exchange-Map.aspx#Rhode%20Island">interactive map </a>from the Commonwealth Fund. Of the states with their own, state-run marketplaces, some plan to raise revenue for their exchanges with taxes or "assessments" on health insurance premiums, for instance. Others, like Rhode Island, seem to be still undecided.</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 16:24:15 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30398 at http://ripr.org How Are Other States Funding Health Exchanges? HealthSource RI Opens Temporary Walk-In Center In Warwick http://ripr.org/post/healthsource-ri-opens-temporary-walk-center-warwick <p>Rhode Island’s health insurance exchange is opening a temporary walk in center in Warwick today. Open enrollment on HealthSource RI ends this month.</p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30105 at http://ripr.org Update: RIte Care, Low Income Rhode Islanders, And The ACA http://ripr.org/post/update-rite-care-low-income-rhode-islanders-and-aca <p>Some of the lowest-income Rhode Islanders may be losing their health insurance coverage or paying a bit more for it by the end of this month.</p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 21:07:11 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27337 at http://ripr.org New HealthSource RI Data: Older Enrollees, Fewer Than Expected http://ripr.org/post/new-healthsource-ri-data-older-enrollees-fewer-expected <p>A bit more than 2600 Rhode Islanders have signed up for health insurance coverage through HealthSource RI. That's a fraction of everyone who’s eligible-- 2%, to be exact, of the estimated 125,000 uninsured Rhode Islanders who could sign up for coverage on Rhode Island’s health insurance exchange.</p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 19:21:44 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 26236 at http://ripr.org New HealthSource RI Data: Older Enrollees, Fewer Than Expected HealthSource RI Tallies Small Business, Medicaid Sign-Ups http://ripr.org/post/healthsource-ri-tallies-small-business-medicaid-sign-ups <p>Rhode Island’s health insurance exchange, HealthSource RI, said several hundred small businesses have started applications for health plans through the site. And there’s more new data about who is enrolling in plans on the exchange.</p><p></p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 16:25:24 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 24749 at http://ripr.org HealthSource RI Tallies Small Business, Medicaid Sign-Ups Debrief: What's Ahead For RI's Health Exchange http://ripr.org/post/debrief-whats-ahead-ris-health-exchange <p>HealthSource RI has been up and running for a couple of weeks now. And it’s where uninsured Rhode Islanders and small businesses can find a health plan – which they’ll need to do by January 1<sup>st</sup>. The head of HealthSource RI –Christy Ferguson—briefed state lawmakers yesterday on how that’s going. And Rhode Island Public Radio health care reporter Kristin Gourlay was there. She joined afternoon host Dave Fallon in the studio to talk about what Ferguson had to say to lawmakers.</p><p></p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 20:50:59 +0000 Kristin Gourlay & Dave Fallon 23379 at http://ripr.org Debrief: What's Ahead For RI's Health Exchange Blue Cross and Blue Shield of RI Opens Retail Store http://ripr.org/post/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-ri-opens-retail-store <p>Blue Cross Blue Shield of Rhode Island has opened its first retail location in Warwick, another sign of the shifting health insurance business landscape.</p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 17:12:31 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 23365 at http://ripr.org Blue Cross and Blue Shield of RI Opens Retail Store HealthSource RI: 33,000 Visits, Less Than 800 Sign Ups http://ripr.org/post/healthsource-ri-33000-visits-less-800-sign-ups <p><a href="http://www.healthsourceri.com/">HealthSource RI </a>&ndash; Rhode Island&rsquo;s online health insurance marketplace &ndash; has attracted more than 30,000 visits since launching on October 1<sup>st</sup>.</p><p>Nearly 40,000 people have called the exchange&rsquo;s call center. And more than 33,000 have visited the web site.</p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 16:20:39 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 23075 at http://ripr.org