alzheimer's disease http://ripr.org en Do You Want To Know If You're At Risk For Alzheimer's? http://ripr.org/post/do-you-want-know-if-youre-risk-alzheimers <p>And if you were, would you want to know?</p><p>That's the ethical dilemma researchers at Butler Hospital and about 60 other sites nationwide will be grappling with as they recruit participants for a new clinical trial.</p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 19:46:56 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 34882 at http://ripr.org RI's Eldery Latino Population Increasingly Isolated http://ripr.org/post/ris-eldery-latino-population-increasingly-isolated <p>Elderly Latinos in Rhode Island and their families may not be aware of the programs available to help them.&nbsp; That’s the premise of a conference planned for Wednesday at Rhode Island College.</p><p>RIC’s gerontology program is hosting the conference, called “Meeting the Needs of Latino Elderly.” The idea is to draw attention to state programs Latinos and their families might not know about because of language barriers or immigration status. But Latino community advocate and conference moderator Delia Rodriquez Masjoan said those aren’t the only reasons.</p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 13:08:57 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 32490 at http://ripr.org Researchers Find Brain Changes In Babies At Risk For Alzheimer's http://ripr.org/post/researchers-find-brain-changes-babies-risk-alzheimers <p>Scientists have come a step closer to understanding <em>when</em> the signs of Alzheimer’s begin. Brown University researchers and their colleagues have found some of the earliest evidence yet.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 21:28:35 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25336 at http://ripr.org Researchers Find Brain Changes In Babies At Risk For Alzheimer's Transportation: A Big Challenge for Those With Dementia http://ripr.org/post/transportation-big-challenge-those-dementia <p>Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Roberts toured the state with an all-volunteer work group for a number of listening sessions to get a better sense of what’s available to those suffering from dementia and their caregivers. They also wanted to hear about what more can be done to help residents with Alzheimer’s and dementia.</p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 06:38:00 +0000 Catherine Welch 21366 at http://ripr.org Getting a Beat on Alzheimer’s in Rhode Island http://ripr.org/post/getting-beat-alzheimer-s-rhode-island <p>Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Roberts toured the state with an all-volunteer work group for a number of listening sessions to get a better sense of what’s available to those suffering from dementia and their caregivers.</p><p>They also wanted to hear about what more can be done to help residents with Alzheimer’s and dementia.</p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 06:31:00 +0000 Catherine Welch 21362 at http://ripr.org Getting a Beat on Alzheimer’s in Rhode Island Officials Seek Input on Alzheimer's State Plan http://ripr.org/post/officials-seek-input-alzheimers-state-plan <p>State officials want to make it easier for people living with Alzheimer’s and those who care for them. Nearly 25,000 Rhode Islanders suffer from the disease, and an estimated 60,000 are their unpaid caregivers.</p><p>A work group spearheaded by Lt Gov Elizabeth Roberts and Division of Elderly Affairs chief Catherine Taylor has issued a set of recommendations in the state’s first comprehensive Alzheimer’s plan.</p> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 19:24:32 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 16794 at http://ripr.org Without Unpaid Care, Alzheimer's Cost Would Soar Even Higher http://ripr.org/post/without-unpaid-care-alzheimers-cost-would-soar-even-higher <p><a href="http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMsa1204629#t=articleResults">News </a>from the New England Journal of Medicine today finds that the cost of caring for people with dementia (including Alzheimer's) will more than double in the next couple of decades. That's because the nation's population is aging, and because the care can be expensive. Most of the estimated $215 billion dollars these diseases cost the economy can be chalked up to long term care.</p> Thu, 04 Apr 2013 18:44:52 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 13064 at http://ripr.org Without Unpaid Care, Alzheimer's Cost Would Soar Even Higher