rite care http://ripr.org en FY '15 Budget Aims To Rein In Medicaid Spending, Add Integrated Health Services http://ripr.org/post/fy-15-budget-aims-rein-medicaid-spending-add-integrated-health-services <p>I'm combing through a Rhode Island Senate Fiscal Office summary of Governor Lincoln Chafee's FY 2015 budget proposal - a handy document that summarizes the item in question and analyzes its potential impacts. In health care, there's lots to digest.</p><p>But here are a few items that have caught my eye so far. And keep in mind, these are all still up for debate.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 20:29:08 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 29641 at http://ripr.org Concern Growing That Low Income Parents Can't Afford Health Insurance http://ripr.org/post/concern-growing-low-income-parents-cant-afford-health-insurance <p>About 4500 parents who used to have health insurance through RIte Care, the state’s Medicaid program, will have to reapply for insurance if they want to remain covered after the end of the month. The biggest concern is that the poorest Rhode Islanders may not be able to afford it.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27441 at http://ripr.org Concern Growing That Low Income Parents Can't Afford Health Insurance Update: RIte Care, Low Income Rhode Islanders, And The ACA http://ripr.org/post/update-rite-care-low-income-rhode-islanders-and-aca <p>Some of the lowest-income Rhode Islanders may be losing their health insurance coverage or paying a bit more for it by the end of this month.</p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 21:07:11 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27337 at http://ripr.org RIte Care Parents Get More Time, Help Enrolling In New Health Plans http://ripr.org/post/rite-care-parents-get-more-time-help-enrolling-new-health-plans <p>Under new, tighter eligibility rules, thousands of parents of children with RIte Care health insurance are slated to lose their coverage at the end of this month. But they’re getting an extra month to pick a new plan.</p> Fri, 06 Dec 2013 21:59:55 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25889 at http://ripr.org Are You Changing Health Plans For 2014? http://ripr.org/post/are-you-changing-health-plans-2014 <p>You might be, if:</p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 18:29:34 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25062 at http://ripr.org No Health Insurance? Get Ready to Enroll. http://ripr.org/post/no-health-insurance-get-ready-enroll <p><strong>UPDATE</strong>: HHS unveiled a newly redesigned healthcare.gov today, which lets users learn more about enrolling in health insurance plans through online insurance marketplaces beginning October 1st. I tried it out. The web site leads you through a series of questions and presents you with your likely options for coverage and whatever financial assistance might be available to help you pay for that coverage. It also creates a customized "checklist" to help you prepare for enrollment, which includes a list of documents you'll need to gather.</p> Mon, 24 Jun 2013 16:20:40 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 17290 at http://ripr.org RI Children Healthier, But Many Still in Poverty http://ripr.org/post/ri-children-healthier-many-still-poverty <p>Kids Count is out with its annual report on the health, education and safety of children in Rhode Island.</p><p>The report shows there are close to a quarter million children in the state. Nineteen percent live in families with incomes below the federal poverty level.</p><p>The good news, says Kids Count director Elizabeth Burke Bryant, is that they’re healthier than they once were.</p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 14:36:25 +0000 Flo Jonic & Elisabeth Harrison 13204 at http://ripr.org RI Children Healthier, But Many Still in Poverty RI Children Are Healthier Overall, But Many Live In Poverty http://ripr.org/post/ri-children-are-healthier-overall-many-live-poverty-0 <p></p><p>Kids Count is out with its annual report on the health, education and safety of children in Rhode Island.</p><p>The report shows there are close to a quarter million children in the state. Nineteen percent live in families with incomes below the federal poverty level.</p><p>The good news, says Kids Count director Elizabeth Burke Bryant, is that they’re healthier than they once were.</p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 14:25:29 +0000 Flo Jonic & Elisabeth Harrison 13203 at http://ripr.org