General Assemby http://ripr.org en Lawmakers Halt High Stakes Testing, Alter Teacher Evaluations http://ripr.org/post/lawmakers-halt-high-stakes-testing-alter-teacher-evaluations <p>In a move that seemed almost unthinkable before a change in leadership at the House of Representatives, Rhode Island lawmakers have suspended the use of standardized test scores as part of a high school diploma until at least 2017. Lawmakers have also approved legislation that limits the frequency of teacher evaluations for most teachers.</p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 13:14:11 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 35623 at http://ripr.org Bonus Q+A: de Ramel on Voter ID, Early Voting, Campaign Finance + More http://ripr.org/post/bonus-qa-de-ramel-voter-id-early-voting-campaign-finance-more <p>Guillaume de Ramel joins us on Bonus Q+A this week to discuss his Democratic run for secretary of state and a host of related issues, including voter ID, how to increase voting participation, the impact of money in his primary battle with rival Democrat Nellie Gorbea, and more.</p><p></p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 15:32:29 +0000 Ian Donnis 26588 at http://ripr.org House Oversight Committee Set To Examine Investment in 38 Studios http://ripr.org/post/house-oversight-committee-set-examine-investment-38-studios <p>The House Oversight Committee is set Wednesday to examine the state’s losing investment in failed video game maker 38 Studios.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The General Assembly ended the legislative session last month. But members of the House Oversight Committee are returning to Smith Hill&nbsp; to examine Rhode Island’s misadventure with 38 Studios.</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 14:13:58 +0000 Ian Donnis 19661 at http://ripr.org House Oversight Committee Set To Examine Investment in 38 Studios Temporary Disability Insurance Program Passes in the Senate http://ripr.org/post/temporary-disability-insurance-program-passes-senate <p>A measure that would expand the state’s Temporary Disability Insurance program has passed the Senate and now heads to the House.&nbsp;&nbsp; The bill could change things for Rhode Island workers who need to take time off from work to care for a family member.</p><p></p><p>State senator Gayle Goldin from Providence sponsored the bill creating the Temporary Caregiver Insurance program.</p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 13:05:56 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 17591 at http://ripr.org Temporary Disability Insurance Program Passes in the Senate Bonus Q+A: Newberry on Chafee, the GOP Outlook, and the Superman Building http://ripr.org/post/bonus-qa-newberry-chafee-gop-outlook-and-superman-building <p>House Minority Leading Brian Newberry takes part in Bonus Q+A to discuss a possible public subsidy for the Superman Building; his evaluation of Governor Lincoln Chafee; and the outlook for increasing GOP representation in the General Assembly.</p><p></p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 08:00:00 +0000 Ian Donnis 16872 at http://ripr.org TGIF: 11 Things to Know About RI Politics + Media (Chafee Switch Edition) http://ripr.org/post/tgif-11-things-know-about-ri-politics-media-chafee-switch-edition <p>While Lincoln Chafee's <a href="http://ripr.org/post/its-official-gov-lincoln-chafee-democrat">move to become a Democrat</a> might be utterly unsurprising to some, the governor's move nonetheless scrambled the landscape for what already looked like a riveting election fight next year. That's why Chafee leads my weekly column. Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to drop me a line at idonnis (at) ripr (and) org&nbsp; and to <a href="https://twitter.com/IanDon">follow me on Twitter</a>. Let's go:</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 20:26:34 +0000 Ian Donnis 16151 at http://ripr.org Revenue Estimates to be Heard at State House http://ripr.org/post/revenue-estimates-be-heard-state-house <p>The outlook for Rhode Island’s next state budget will come into sharper view when the latest revenue data is discussed this morning.</p><p>The annual revenue estimating conference takes place twice a year, in November and May. It’s when legislative staffers offer their estimates of state revenues, based on taxes and other sources of income.</p><p></p><p>The latest revenue estimates are then used by the General Assembly when it makes revisions to the governor’s proposed budget for the fiscal year starting July first.</p><p></p> Tue, 07 May 2013 12:37:37 +0000 Ian Donnis 14782 at http://ripr.org Revenue Estimates to be Heard at State House Are Rhode Island's Openly Gay Lawmakers Hearing Wedding Bells? http://ripr.org/post/are-rhode-islands-openly-gay-lawmakers-hearing-wedding-bells <p>After helping to shepherd same-sex marriage legislation on what once seemed an improbable path to <a href="http://www.ripr.org/post/same-sex-marriage-clears-crucial-senate-vote">victory</a>, House Speaker Gordon Fox was a bit surprised Tuesday to be asked about his own wedding plans.</p><p>"I'm just trying to plan to get through this session," Fox said, laughing, when asked if he has plans to marry later this year. "That's a curve ball. I hadn't though about that one. Maybe you should ask my partner that."</p> Wed, 01 May 2013 18:17:06 +0000 Ian Donnis 14507 at http://ripr.org Are Rhode Island's Openly Gay Lawmakers Hearing Wedding Bells?