General Assembly. http://ripr.org en Former Prosecutor Corrente On Federal Corruption Probes http://ripr.org/post/former-prosecutor-corrente-federal-corruption-probes <p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 08:00:00 +0000 Ian Donnis 32095 at http://ripr.org Former Prosecutor Corrente On Federal Corruption Probes NRA's RI PAC Dissolves Following Campaign Finance Complaint http://ripr.org/post/nras-ri-pac-dissolves-following-campaign-finance-complaint <p>The NRA's political action committee in Rhode Island, which has contributed a considerable amount of money to Rhode Island lawmakers over the years,<a href="https://secure.ricampaignfinance.com/RhodeIslandCF/ReportsScanned/259-RICF7-131034-94cb8c91-b795-4156-a22a-55a8907afc01.pdf"> dissolved</a> on September 26 after being the subject of a complaint by<a href="http://www.ripda.org/"> the Rhode Island chapter</a> of the Progressive Democrats of America.</p> Thu, 24 Oct 2013 16:06:32 +0000 Ian Donnis 23716 at http://ripr.org Ray Sullivan Joining Checkmate Consulting As a Partner http://ripr.org/post/ray-sullivan-joining-checkmate-consulting-partner <p></p><p><a href="https://twitter.com/RaySullivan">Ray Sullivan</a>, who led Rhode Island United's successful campaign this year to<a href="http://ripr.org/post/after-16-year-fight-rhode-island-legalizes-same-sex-marriage"> legalize same-sex marriage</a>, is joining <a href="http://checkmatecg.com/">Checkmate Consulting Group</a>, Brad Dufault's advertising, marketing and PR shop, as a partner.</p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 16:25:17 +0000 Ian Donnis 20770 at http://ripr.org Ray Sullivan Joining Checkmate Consulting As a Partner The new Rhode Island: Gambling is us http://ripr.org/post/new-rhode-island-gambling-us <p>There’s an old chestnut in banking: If you owe the bank $10,000, the bank owns you. If you owe the bank $100 million, you own the bank.</p><p>That’s pretty much what has happened in Rhode Island state government’s quest to regulate the state-sponsored gambling emporiums at Newport Grand and at Twin River (aka Twin Rivahs in Vo Dilundese) in Lincoln.</p> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 20:02:00 +0000 Scott MacKay 17054 at http://ripr.org Senate Vote Scheduled on Teacher Evaluations http://ripr.org/post/senate-vote-scheduled-teacher-evaluations <p>The full Senate is expected to vote today on a bill that would make teacher evaluations private under the state’s public record act.</p><p>Education officials have argued the evaluations are already private under personnel rules, but they want to make sure they are not considered part of the public record.</p><p>Open government advocates oppose the idea of exempting teacher evaluations from the list of public documents. A companion bill in the House is still in committee.</p> Thu, 09 May 2013 12:54:54 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 14921 at http://ripr.org After 16-Year Fight, Rhode Island Legalizes Same-Sex Marriage http://ripr.org/post/after-16-year-fight-rhode-island-legalizes-same-sex-marriage <p></p><p>To the delight of a crowd of hundreds of people in front of the Statehouse, Governor Lincoln Chafee on Thursday evening signed into law legislation making Rhode Island the 10th state to legalize same-sex marriage. Two companion bills forming the basis for the law sped through the General Assembly in recent weeks, in sharp contrast to how the issue of same-sex marriage languished for the preceding 16 years.</p> Thu, 02 May 2013 23:49:49 +0000 Ian Donnis 14598 at http://ripr.org After 16-Year Fight, Rhode Island Legalizes Same-Sex Marriage