painkillers http://ripr.org en Debrief: New Health Laws Address Addiction, Breast Cancer http://ripr.org/post/debrief-new-health-laws-address-addiction-breast-cancer <p>Another legislative session has wrapped up. Health care reporter Kristin Gourlay joins host Dave Fallon in the studio to talk about how health care fared on Smith Hill.</p><p>Here's a transcript of their discussion.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:21:30 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35634 at http://ripr.org RI Launches New Programs To Treat Addicts, Prevent Overdoses http://ripr.org/post/ri-launches-new-programs-treat-addicts-prevent-overdoses <p>State leaders have announced some new steps in the fight against prescription painkiller and heroin addiction. The news accompanies the release of the latest grim numbers of drug overdose deaths. &nbsp;</p><p>Rhode Island health department head Michael Fine told a standing-room-only crowd at the Anchor Community Recovery Center in Pawtucket that 85 people have died since January from suspected drug overdoses, mostly heroin. Hundreds more have overdosed but survived, he said, thanks to an antidote called Narcan, which first responders carry.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 17:32:32 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 32203 at http://ripr.org RI Launches New Programs To Treat Addicts, Prevent Overdoses Tuesday: Policy & Pinot On "Killer Drugs: Opioid Addiction And Overdose" http://ripr.org/post/tuesday-policy-pinot-killer-drugs-opioid-addiction-and-overdose <h2>Tomorrow night! Join Rhode Island Public Radio for Policy &amp; Pinot, our ongoing public discussion series held in conjunction with the <a href="http://www.providenceathenaeum.org/">Providence Athenaeum</a>.</h2><p><strong>When: </strong>Tuesday, March 11, 2014. Reception at 5:30 PM, program begins shortly after.</p><p><strong>Where: </strong>The Providence Athenaeum, 251 Benefit Street, Providence, RI. Some street parking available.</p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 15:55:31 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30205 at http://ripr.org Agency Issues "Emergency Rules" In Drug Overdose Crisis http://ripr.org/post/agency-issues-emergency-rules-drug-overdose-crisis <p>Rhode Island’s Department of Behavioral Healthcare, Developmental Disabilities and Hospitals has issued emergency regulations in response to the recent spike in drug overdose deaths.</p><p></p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 17:55:03 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 28619 at http://ripr.org Agency Issues "Emergency Rules" In Drug Overdose Crisis Communities Ask How To Prevent Overdose http://ripr.org/post/communities-ask-how-prevent-overdose <p>Two community forums are taking place over the next week to talk about preventing overdose. They couldn't come at a better time.</p><p>Overdose kills more Rhode Islanders than any other kind of accident (including traffic and guns). During the first two weeks of January, 22 Rhode Islanders died from presumed illicit drug overdoses. Another two died over the past two weekends, according to a source at the health department.</p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 17:31:37 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 28337 at http://ripr.org Communities Ask How To Prevent Overdose To Curb Abuse, Lifespan ERs Adopt Rx Painkiller Guidelines http://ripr.org/post/curb-abuse-lifespan-ers-adopt-rx-painkiller-guidelines <p>Rhode Island Hospital and the entire Lifespan network have announced new guidelines for prescribing painkillers in their emergency rooms. ER doctors are trying to address the growing problem of prescription drug abuse and addiction.</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 20:07:26 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 26484 at http://ripr.org State Lawmakers: Close Gaps In Rx Monitoring Program http://ripr.org/post/state-lawmakers-close-gaps-rx-monitoring-program <p>State lawmakers are looking at ways to strengthen Rhode Island’s prescription drug monitoring program. They say there are too many gaps in the current system that allow people to abuse prescription drugs.</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 20:58:54 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25711 at http://ripr.org State Lawmakers: Close Gaps In Rx Monitoring Program RI Using Some Promising Tools to Combat Overdose Deaths http://ripr.org/post/ri-using-some-promising-tools-combat-overdose-deaths <p>A new <a href="http://healthyamericans.org/reports/drugabuse2013/release.php?stateid=RI">report </a>finds that while deaths from prescription drug overdose have doubled in Rhode Island, the state has implemented many of the measures experts say can prevent those deaths.</p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 17:10:32 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 22880 at http://ripr.org Fighting Prescription Drug Abuse, One Log In At a Time http://ripr.org/post/fighting-prescription-drug-abuse-one-log-time <p>For Rhode Islanders between 15 and 44 years old, the leading cause of death is accidental drug overdose, usually involving prescription painkillers. &nbsp;State health leaders are calling it an epidemic. There’s growing evidence that tracking the number of pills doctors prescribe to potential abusers might ease the problem. But Rhode Island’s fledgling prescription drug monitoring program is just getting started.</p><p><strong>The dark side of opiates</strong></p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 16918 at http://ripr.org Fighting Prescription Drug Abuse, One Log In At a Time Prescribing Painkillers: What the Health Dept. Recommends http://ripr.org/post/prescribing-painkillers-what-health-dept-recommends <p>Recently, I reported on Rhode Island's fledgling prescription drug monitoring program (listen to that story <a href="http://ripr.org/post/fighting-prescription-drug-abuse-one-log-time">here</a>). It's a program that's supposed to spot troubling trends in prescription drug misuse. And as you might know, there's plenty of trouble to spot in Rhode Island, where prescription drug overdose death rates have soared along with rates of addiction to narcotic painkillers.</p> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 18:36:52 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 17052 at http://ripr.org