Rhode Island Mayoral Academies http://ripr.org en Warwick Mayor Puts the Brakes on New Mayoral Academy http://ripr.org/post/warwick-mayor-puts-brakes-new-mayoral-academy <p>Warwick Mayor Scott Avedisian has halted public hearings on a proposed Mayoral Academy Charter School.</p><p>Avedisian, who is the mayor sponsoring the proposal, says numerous issues including West Warwick's potential to pull out of the proposal,&nbsp; preceded the request.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 11:28:14 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 35122 at http://ripr.org State to Hold Public Hearings on Latest Round of Charter School Applications http://ripr.org/post/state-hold-public-hearings-latest-round-charter-school-applications <p>The Rhode Island Department of Education has scheduled a round of hearings on six new charter schools proposed for the state.</p><p>The hearings are intended to gather public input on the proposals, which include two new mayoral academies in Woonsocket and Warwick.</p><p>Mayoral academies serve students from multiple districts, which usually include a mixture of urban low-income and suburban communities. They pride themselves on challenging academic programs and promoting college prep even for the youngest students.</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 12:57:56 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 33919 at http://ripr.org Charter Receives $450,000 for New High School http://ripr.org/post/charter-receives-450000-new-high-school <p>Blackstone Valley Prep Mayoral Academy has won a <a href="http://www.blackstonevalleyprep.org/images/stories/1314_BVP_receives_450000_grant_from_NGLC.pdf">$450,000 grant</a> from <a href="http://nextgenlearning.org/">Next Generation Learning Challenges</a>, an advocacy group focused on increasing the use of technology to improve public education, to open its first high school.</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 13:06:51 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 33206 at http://ripr.org Contested Charter School to Open in Providence http://ripr.org/post/contested-charter-school-open-providence <p>Achievement First, a big box charter operator from Connecticut, opens its first school in Rhode Island this month. Plans for Achievement First in Rhode Island originally called for a network of public charter schools serving students in Kindergarten through the end of high school, but the proposal almost immediately ran into opposition from parents and teachers.</p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 13:09:52 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 20267 at http://ripr.org Charter School Prepares to Grow to Seven Campuses http://ripr.org/post/charter-school-prepares-grow-seven-campuses <p>Blackstone Valley Prep has received the go-ahead from state officials to continue operating for another five years and more than double the number of schools it runs around the state.</p><p><a href="http://blackstonevalleyprep.org/" target="_blank">Blackstone Valley Prep</a>, a charter school, currently operates two elementary schools in Cumberland and a middle school in Lincoln. Plans call for a high school to open this fall at a location still to be determined.</p> Wed, 17 Jul 2013 13:26:14 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 18564 at http://ripr.org Advocates Protest Legislation Allowing Schools on Toxic Sites http://ripr.org/post/advocates-protest-legislation-allowing-schools-toxic-sites <p>Environmental advocates gathered at the Statehouse Wednesday to protest legislation that would roll back restrictions that prevent schools from building on toxic sites.</p> Thu, 23 May 2013 12:28:28 +0000 Bradley Campbell 15696 at http://ripr.org