Primary Care http://ripr.org en Where ACA Dollars Have Flowed Into RI http://ripr.org/post/where-aca-dollars-have-flowed-ri <p>The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid have announced the second round of Health Care Innovation awards. These are big grants for projects that are trying to reduce the cost of health care and/or improve care delivery, often for some of the sickest or most complicated patients.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:24:10 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 36528 at http://ripr.org Where ACA Dollars Have Flowed Into RI Lifespan, BCBSRI Ink Accountable Care Deal http://ripr.org/post/lifespan-bcbsri-ink-accountable-care-deal <p>The state’s largest hospital chain and largest insurer have inked an agreement to share patient data that will help them look for ways to improve health and save money. The deal is the largest of its kind in the state and could shape health care for more than 35,000 Rhode Islanders.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 17:00:15 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35769 at http://ripr.org 20 More Primary Care Practices To Join CSI-RI http://ripr.org/post/20-more-primary-care-practices-join-csi-ri <p>A statewide effort to link more Rhode Islanders with primary care is expanding.</p><p>The effort is called the Chronic Care Sustainability Initiative, or CSI.CSI promotes the patient-centered medical home model of health care. In a patient centered medical home, a team of health care professionals coordinates a patient’s care. It’s especially helpful for patients with chronic illnesses, although anyone can join.</p> Tue, 20 May 2014 17:42:06 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 33865 at http://ripr.org Pilot Program Links Doctors With Addiction Experts http://ripr.org/post/pilot-program-links-doctors-addiction-experts <p>State officials have announced another tool to help physicians spot and treat drug abuse.</p> Mon, 19 May 2014 18:43:47 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 33800 at http://ripr.org MinuteClinics And The Future Of Primary Care http://ripr.org/post/minuteclinics-and-future-primary-care <p>The Rhode Island Department of Health's recent decision to grant approval, with 22 conditions, to CVS to open seven retail health clinics in pharmacies throughout Rhode Island came down in the form of a 43-page document. In my humble opinion, it's a well-written, even eloquent ode to the importance of primary care and the challenges of regulating health care in a state where for-profit health care is no longer around the corner but setting up shop on it. Thu, 15 May 2014 19:28:31 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 33619 at http://ripr.org CVS Gets Green Light To Open Retail Clinics In RI http://ripr.org/post/cvs-gets-green-light-open-retail-clinics-ri <p>The nation’s largest pharmacy chain has been given the green light to open seven retail health care clinics in Rhode Island. CVS pharmacies’ MinuteClinics would see patients for minor illnesses and perform some routine health screenings. But state health officials' approval comes with several conditions.</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 17:32:17 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 33618 at http://ripr.org CVS Gets Green Light To Open Retail Clinics In RI More Medicaid Enrollees: It's Not Just About The Money http://ripr.org/post/more-medicaid-enrollees-its-not-just-about-money <p>As you may know, far more Rhode Islanders signed up for Medicaid than expected recently. And the state is on the hook for millions more dollars than anticipated to care for them. The federal government is picking up the tab for now for people who became newly eligible for the program under the Obamacare Medicaid expansion, which Rhode Island opted to accept (unlike some other states). That allowed childless adults, men and women, earning less than a certain amount a year, to get health insurance, some perhaps for the first time. Fri, 09 May 2014 18:29:09 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 33328 at http://ripr.org To Manage Chronic Disease, RI Tries A Team http://ripr.org/post/manage-chronic-disease-ri-tries-team <p>Having a chronic disease like diabetes or asthma can be debilitating. It can also be managed with ongoing medical treatment and taking care of your health. But there's a cost to <em><u>not</u></em> managing these conditions - to your health, and to the health care system. That's why health care professionals and public officials have been focusing their efforts on helping patients manage those chronic conditions through better primary care. That's the goal of the "chronic care sustainability initiative" in Rhode Island, or CSI&nbsp; RI.</p><p></p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 31437 at http://ripr.org To Manage Chronic Disease, RI Tries A Team Match Day Sees More Primary Care Residencies http://ripr.org/post/match-day-sees-more-primary-care-residencies <p>Match Day was Friday for fourth year medical students around the country. It's an annual rite, the moment when students find out whether and where they'll be doing their residency. It's a big deal because where you do your residency matters on so many levels - from the number of years you'll spend there, to the quality of the doctors who train you, to the opportunities you'll have to deepen your specialty. And many residents end up staying where they train.</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 16:53:18 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30937 at http://ripr.org Match Day Sees More Primary Care Residencies Does Having Health Insurance Boost ER Visits? http://ripr.org/post/does-having-health-insurance-boost-er-visits <p>Another study seems to suggest that, contrary to previous assumptions, it does.</p><p>Researchers from Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston have just published the results of a study in the <em>Annals of Emergency Medicine</em> that looked at all emergency department visits at 69 hospitals between the fall of 2006 and the fall of 2009. In 2006, Massachusetts expanded access to health insurance to nearly everyone in the state.</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 16:08:33 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30757 at http://ripr.org