hospitals http://ripr.org en In Network, Out-Of-Network: What It Means, Why It Matters http://ripr.org/post/network-out-network-what-it-means-why-it-matters <p>When it comes to health insurance, "in-network" means a provider or facility that's contracted with your insurer to provide services at an agreed-upon rate. "Out-of-network" means a provider or facility that doesn't have an agreement with your insurer. Whether in-network or out-of-network providers and facilities are covered, and to what extent, depends on your particular health insurance plan.</p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 18:42:08 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 32572 at http://ripr.org Hospital Infections Rise In Rhode Island http://ripr.org/post/hospital-infections-rise-rhode-island <p>The CDC released an update today on the nation's and individual state's progress toward reducing the rate of infections acquired in hospitals. The headline, nationwide, is that we're making progress. In Rhode Island, not as much.</p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 18:30:28 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 31078 at http://ripr.org Hospital Infections Rise In Rhode Island FY '15 Budget Aims To Rein In Medicaid Spending, Add Integrated Health Services http://ripr.org/post/fy-15-budget-aims-rein-medicaid-spending-add-integrated-health-services <p>I'm combing through a Rhode Island Senate Fiscal Office summary of Governor Lincoln Chafee's FY 2015 budget proposal - a handy document that summarizes the item in question and analyzes its potential impacts. In health care, there's lots to digest.</p><p>But here are a few items that have caught my eye so far. And keep in mind, these are all still up for debate.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 20:29:08 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 29641 at http://ripr.org RI Hospitals Post Operating Losses for 2013 http://ripr.org/post/ri-hospitals-post-operating-losses-2013 <p>Rhode Island hospitals posted a nearly $59 million dollar operating loss in 2013. That’s just one aspect of a troubling economic picture emerging in a <a href="http://www.hari.org/uploads/feb_14.pdf">new report </a>on the state of the state’s hospitals.</p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 16:40:15 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 29575 at http://ripr.org RI Hospitals Post Operating Losses for 2013 Hospitals Worry Medicaid Cuts Could Leave Them In The Red http://ripr.org/post/hospitals-worry-medicaid-cuts-could-leave-them-red <p>We've been reporting on what the impacts might be if Governor Lincoln Chafee's proposed cuts to Medicaid take effect - for example, what's at stake for the state's <a href="http://ripr.org/post/proposed-medicaid-cuts-could-strap-nursing-homes">nursing homes</a>.</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 23:43:33 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 28059 at http://ripr.org Tools For Health Care Consumers: Quality, Cost, And Care http://ripr.org/post/tools-health-care-consumers-quality-cost-and-care <p>Thousands of Rhode Islanders have signed up for health insurance in recent weeks, some for the first time. I'm thinking that means some might not be so familiar with our health care system, or they might not know how to keep costs down with plans that carry higher deductibles or out-of-pocket costs.</p><p>So... here are a few tools to help you navigate, from finding the highest quality, to keeping costs down, to managing your own health. It's not an exhaustive list, but a start...if you're starting from scratch!</p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 21:27:54 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27515 at http://ripr.org Deal To Acquire Landmark Approved http://ripr.org/post/deal-acquire-landmark-approved <p>Woonsocket’s Landmark Medical Center is about to turn the page on a long and challenging chapter in its history. The struggling hospital has received regulatory approval to be acquired by a for-profit hospital chain called Prime Healthcare. That means an end to five years of uncertainty for employees, patients, and the community.</p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 21:21:49 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 23905 at http://ripr.org Deal To Acquire Landmark Approved Recap: Most Significant Health Legislation this Session http://ripr.org/post/recap-most-significant-health-legislation-session <p>The 2013 session of the Rhode Island General Assembly has officially,finally, wrapped up. With that, we turn to Rhode Island Public Radio’s health care reporter Kristin Gourlay for a recap of some of the most significant health legislation to pass and not pass&nbsp; and how it might affect you.</p><p><strong>DAVE</strong>: So much happening in health care now in Rhode Island and nationally – from the implementation of the Affordable Care Act to rising health care prices. Did legislators tackle any of these big issues this session?</p> Wed, 10 Jul 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 18065 at http://ripr.org Recap: Most Significant Health Legislation this Session More Layoffs As Lifespan Tries to Trim $150M http://ripr.org/post/more-layoffs-lifespan-tries-trim-150m <p>The state’s largest hospital network is making another attempt to trim nearly $150 million in expenses over the next two and a half years. Lifespan has announced another round of layoffs.</p> Wed, 22 May 2013 18:32:36 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 15665 at http://ripr.org More Layoffs As Lifespan Tries to Trim $150M New Hospital Price Data Helps, But What About Quality? http://ripr.org/post/new-hospital-price-data-helps-what-about-quality <p>You may have heard news yesterday that the federal government has released a greater level of detail on the <a href="http://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-Reports/Medicare-Provider-Charge-Data/index.html">prices hospitals charge for a list of common procedures</a> and how widely those prices vary - not only from state to state but within states, and&nbsp; even within the same city. The data comes from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (or CMS), from 3000 hospitals nationwide. Thu, 09 May 2013 18:08:29 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 14951 at http://ripr.org