Rhode Island School of Design http://ripr.org en And the Honorary Degree Recipients Are... http://ripr.org/post/and-honorary-degree-recipients-are <p>This year, Brown University plans to honor acclaimed authors Jeffrey Eugenides and Lois Lowry, both Brown alums, along with U.S. Labor Secretary Thomas Perez and seven other Brown graduates.</p><p>At the Rhode Island School of Design, commencement festivities will include an honorary degree for designer Todd Oldham and a keynote speech from designer Bruce Mau.</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:57:21 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 32254 at http://ripr.org RISD, Brown Team Up To Build A Solar House http://ripr.org/post/risd-brown-team-build-solar-house <p>Leave it to a team of the brightest students in Rhode Island to design a solar-powered house made almost entirely out of high-quality fabrics.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Students from Brown, the Rhode Island School of Design, and the University of Applied Sciences </span>Erfurt<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> in Germany are competing as one team, called Team Inside Out, in the <a href="http://www.solardecathlon2014.fr/en/">2014 Solar Decathlon Europe</a>, taking place in Versailles, France in July.</span></p><p></p> Sun, 02 Mar 2014 18:53:34 +0000 Ambar Espinoza 29863 at http://ripr.org RISD, Brown Team Up To Build A Solar House Maeda Bids Farewell to RISD Faculty http://ripr.org/post/maeda-bids-farewell-risd-faculty <p>Outgoing Rhode Island School of Design President John Maeda addressed RISD's faculty on Wednesday, the day he released a surprise announcement that he is stepping down at the end of the semester. Many RISD professors expressed profound shock at the news, although Maeda was not popular with some professors.</p><p></p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 14:50:30 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 25969 at http://ripr.org Maeda Bids Farewell to RISD Faculty Maeda's Fundraising Numbers http://ripr.org/post/maedas-fundraising-numbers <p>As he prepares to step down, Rhode Island School of Design President John Maeda has been touting his record as a fundraiser. RISD has provided the following numbers to RIPR in support of his claim:</p> Fri, 06 Dec 2013 14:08:13 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 25856 at http://ripr.org RISD President Maeda Leaving For Job In Silicon Valley http://ripr.org/post/risd-president-maeda-leaving-job-silicon-valley <p>Rhode Island School of Design president John Maeda announced Wednesday that he is leaving the school for a job in Silicon Valley.</p><p></p><p></p><p>In a released statement, Maeda said he’s leaving RISD to take a job as a design partner with the top-tier venture capital firm of Kleiner Perkins Caufield and Byers. Maeda leaves campus at the end of this semester, starting his new job next month. Maeda calls the move quote, “an irresistible pathway to strengthen design’s place in the digital age.”</p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 21:20:08 +0000 Catherine Welch 25770 at http://ripr.org RISD President Maeda Leaving For Job In Silicon Valley RISD + Google Glass = ? http://ripr.org/post/risd-google-glass <p>Students at the Rhode Island School of Design will be among the first to experiment with <a href="http://www.google.com/glass/start/what-it-does/" target="_blank">Google Glass</a>, the high-tech head sets that seem more science fiction than reality.</p> Tue, 30 Jul 2013 12:41:52 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 19227 at http://ripr.org RISD to Update Former Dye Plant http://ripr.org/post/risd-update-former-dye-plant <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Rhode Island School of Design breaks ground Thursday on a major renovation of its Illustration Studies Building. The project is expected to take three years to complete at a cost of more than $12 million.</p><p>RISD plans to add 5,600 square feet to the former chemical and dye plant in downtown Providence and make it fully handicapped accessible. The project also calls for a complete renovation of the illustration studios and classrooms housed in the building.</p> Wed, 29 May 2013 12:39:13 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 15996 at http://ripr.org RISD to Update Former Dye Plant RISD Students Conclude Divestment Sit-In http://ripr.org/post/risd-students-conclude-divestment-sit <p></p><p>The President of the Rhode Island School of Design, John Maeda, has his office back.</p> Wed, 01 May 2013 12:25:26 +0000 Bradley Campbell 14481 at http://ripr.org More Than Century-Old Elm Tree Comes Down at John Brown House http://ripr.org/post/more-century-old-elm-tree-comes-down-john-brown-house <p>A historic tree on the grounds of the John Brown House in Providence was cut down Monday.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Early in the morning a tree crew armed with a chain saw lopped off the top third of the 108-year-old elm. A crane carefully lowered the piece to the ground.&nbsp; The American elm on the grounds of the John Brown House fell victim to a fatal canker, according to Rhode Island Historical Society grounds keeper Ed Desjarlais.</p> Mon, 11 Mar 2013 16:02:33 +0000 Flo Jonic 11720 at http://ripr.org More Than Century-Old Elm Tree Comes Down at John Brown House RISD’s Largest-Ever International Gift http://ripr.org/post/risd-s-largest-ever-international-gift <p></p><p>The Rhode Island School of Design has received <a href="http://www.risd.edu/about/news/risd_welcomes_painting_gift.aspx" target="_blank">$1 million </a>from the parents of an alumna to fund visiting scholars in the painting department. The gift from Vikram and Geetanjali Kirloskar of Bangalore is the largest bequest from an international donor in RISD’s history.</p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 14:02:47 +0000 Elisabeth Harrison 11601 at http://ripr.org RISD’s Largest-Ever International Gift