emergency department http://ripr.org en Recovery "On Call" In the Emergency Room http://ripr.org/post/recovery-call-emergency-room <p>A new program aims to connect people who have accidentally overdosed on opioids with addiction treatment – <em>before </em>they leave the emergency room. The state’s largest nonprofit mental health service organization, The Providence Center, is providing what it calls “recovery coaches” to Kent Hospital through a program called <strong>AnchorED</strong>.</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:56:40 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 37178 at http://ripr.org Fatima Hospital Posts ER Wait Times http://ripr.org/post/fatima-hospital-posts-er-wait-times <p>Fatima Hospital is now posting on its web site the approximate wait time to be seen in the emergency room. But lots of factors could change that wait time.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:27:48 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 31301 at http://ripr.org Does Having Health Insurance Boost ER Visits? http://ripr.org/post/does-having-health-insurance-boost-er-visits <p>Another study seems to suggest that, contrary to previous assumptions, it does.</p><p>Researchers from Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston have just published the results of a study in the <em>Annals of Emergency Medicine</em> that looked at all emergency department visits at 69 hospitals between the fall of 2006 and the fall of 2009. In 2006, Massachusetts expanded access to health insurance to nearly everyone in the state.</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 16:08:33 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30757 at http://ripr.org To Curb Abuse, Lifespan ERs Adopt Rx Painkiller Guidelines http://ripr.org/post/curb-abuse-lifespan-ers-adopt-rx-painkiller-guidelines <p>Rhode Island Hospital and the entire Lifespan network have announced new guidelines for prescribing painkillers in their emergency rooms. ER doctors are trying to address the growing problem of prescription drug abuse and addiction.</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 20:07:26 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 26484 at http://ripr.org The Waiting Room: A System Broken In So Many Places http://ripr.org/post/waiting-room-system-broken-so-many-places <p>Last night I watched the beautifully crafted documentary "<a href="http://www.whatruwaitingfor.com/film/">The Waiting Room</a>." It captures 24 hours in a single hospital's waiting room, following the stories of a diverse cast of patients and staff. There's no narration except how the characters tell their own stories and how those weave into the larger story this documentary tells. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 15:06:55 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 23776 at http://ripr.org The Waiting Room: A System Broken In So Many Places Program Aims To Curb ER Use, Integrate Mental Health and Primary Care http://ripr.org/post/program-aims-curb-er-use-integrate-mental-health-and-primary-care <p><a href="http://www.providencecenter.org/">The Providence Center </a>has received a $1.7 million dollar federal grant to try to help people with mental health problems avoid the emergency room.&nbsp; The program could help hospitals, and the state, slash some of the most expensive medical bills.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 20:45:06 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 23094 at http://ripr.org No Funding Yet for Pilot to Divert "Frequent Fliers" From ER http://ripr.org/post/no-funding-yet-pilot-divert-frequent-fliers-er <p>Perhaps you remember hearing or reading about a plan to divert so-called "frequent fliers" - meaning frequently intoxicated emergency room users - from ERs to some kind of sobering center?</p> Fri, 24 May 2013 20:03:34 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 15799 at http://ripr.org No Funding Yet for Pilot to Divert "Frequent Fliers" From ER