heroin http://ripr.org en Surge In Children Removed From Homes Due To Neglect Or Abuse In Rhode Island http://ripr.org/post/surge-children-removed-homes-due-neglect-or-abuse-rhode-island <p>A reported surge in the number of children removed from their homes because of abuse or neglect is raising concern across the state.&nbsp; Addiction is a major cause.</p><p></p><p>Chris Dorval manages programs at an addiction treatment facility called Clinical Services of Rhode Island. Dorval says that over the past couple of years, he’s treated a growing number of clients whose children have been removed from their homes. But Dorval said he thinks there’s more to it than just the increasing <em>number</em> of people addicted to opioids like heroin and prescription painkillers.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 13:13:58 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 37089 at http://ripr.org Debrief: New Health Laws Address Addiction, Breast Cancer http://ripr.org/post/debrief-new-health-laws-address-addiction-breast-cancer <p>Another legislative session has wrapped up. Health care reporter Kristin Gourlay joins host Dave Fallon in the studio to talk about how health care fared on Smith Hill.</p><p>Here's a transcript of their discussion.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:21:30 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35634 at http://ripr.org Chafee Signs New Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Into Law http://ripr.org/post/chafee-signs-new-prescription-drug-monitoring-program-law <p>Governor Lincoln Chafee has signed a bill into law requiring practitioners to register with the state’s prescription drug monitoring program.</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 13:42:06 +0000 Catherine Welch 34343 at http://ripr.org Rx Drug Monitoring, Insurance Coverage For Addiction Bills Clear Senate Hurdle http://ripr.org/post/rx-drug-monitoring-insurance-coverage-addiction-bills-clear-senate-hurdle <p>A state senate committee has recommended passage of two bills aimed at curbing prescription drug and heroin abuse.</p><p></p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 15:33:44 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 32860 at http://ripr.org Rx Drug Monitoring, Insurance Coverage For Addiction Bills Clear Senate Hurdle RI Launches New Programs To Treat Addicts, Prevent Overdoses http://ripr.org/post/ri-launches-new-programs-treat-addicts-prevent-overdoses <p>State leaders have announced some new steps in the fight against prescription painkiller and heroin addiction. The news accompanies the release of the latest grim numbers of drug overdose deaths. &nbsp;</p><p>Rhode Island health department head Michael Fine told a standing-room-only crowd at the Anchor Community Recovery Center in Pawtucket that 85 people have died since January from suspected drug overdoses, mostly heroin. Hundreds more have overdosed but survived, he said, thanks to an antidote called Narcan, which first responders carry.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 17:32:32 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 32203 at http://ripr.org RI Launches New Programs To Treat Addicts, Prevent Overdoses Women & Infants Sees Surge In Opioid-Addicted Newborns http://ripr.org/post/women-infants-sees-surge-opioid-addicted-newborns <p>The rising number of Rhode Islanders struggling with an addiction to prescription painkillers and heroin has brought an increase in babies born addicted to these substances. And Women &amp; Infants Hospital is treating a growing number of them.</p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 31381 at http://ripr.org Women & Infants Sees Surge In Opioid-Addicted Newborns Miss Our Policy & Pinot On Overdose? Listen Here. http://ripr.org/post/miss-our-policy-pinot-overdose-listen-here <p>We had a full house at the Providence Athenaeum last week. If you weren't able to join us, not to worry. You can listen to the full program right here.</p><p>Rhode Island Public Radio, in concert with the lovely Providence Athenaeum, hosted a stellar group of panelists for this one hour radio show taped in front of a live audience. Guests included a recovering addict and overdose survivor, an addiction medicine and infectious disease specialist, a drug abuse epidemiologist, a Warwick police captain trained in mental health first aid, and an addiction treatment specialist.</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 14:53:26 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30572 at http://ripr.org Miss Our Policy & Pinot On Overdose? Listen Here. New Rules Let Doctors Give Narcan To Friends, Family http://ripr.org/post/new-rules-let-doctors-give-narcan-friends-family <p>Rhode Island’s health department has issued <a href="http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/pdf/DOH/7687.pdf">new emergency regulations </a>designed to make it easier to access a drug called naloxone, used to reverse drug overdoses. The new rules come in response to a spike in deaths from heroin and prescription painkiller overdoses.</p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 13:58:08 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30453 at http://ripr.org New Rules Let Doctors Give Narcan To Friends, Family Miss Policy & Pinot At The Athenaeum? Listen Sunday! http://ripr.org/post/miss-policy-pinot-athenaeum-listen-sunday <p>If you weren't able to join us last night at the Providence Athenaeum for Policy &amp; Pinot - "Killer Drugs: Tackling Opioid Addiction and Overdose in Rhode Island" - not to worry. We recorded the program and will broadcast it Sunday, March 16 at 6 pm here on Rhode Island Public Radio. But we're sorry we missed you!</p><p>-------</p><p>More about last night's Policy &amp; Pinot at the Providence Athenaeum</p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 15:23:44 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30336 at http://ripr.org RI Lawmakers Mull New Drug Abuse, Overdose Bills http://ripr.org/post/ri-lawmakers-mull-new-drug-abuse-overdose-bills <p>The Senate Health and Human Services committee will be considering a suite of proposed bills that aim to tackle the state's prescription painkiller and heroin addiction and overdose crisis.</p><p>The committee's chair, Senator Joshua Miller (D-Dist. 28, Cranston, Providence), plans to introduce several of those bills, including:</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 18:38:18 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 30274 at http://ripr.org