kids http://ripr.org en Rhode Island Kids Rank 26th In Well-Being http://ripr.org/post/rhode-island-kids-rank-26th-well-being <p>Children are worse off in Rhode Island than in the rest of New England. But there are some bright spots in an annual report about kids’ well-being.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:16:15 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 37111 at http://ripr.org Should Unvaccinated Kids Stay Home? http://ripr.org/post/should-unvaccinated-kids-stay-home <p>That depends on your priorities. But first, <strong>here's what's at issue:</strong></p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 18:18:42 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 28278 at http://ripr.org Should Unvaccinated Kids Stay Home? Should Flu & HPV Shots Be Required For School Kids? http://ripr.org/post/should-flu-hpv-shots-be-required-school-kids <p>The state’s health department is considering updates to its immunization policy for school kids from preschool through college. The proposals would require flu shots for kids up to age five and the HPV vaccine for kids entering ninth grade.</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 16:33:16 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 28277 at http://ripr.org Concern Growing That Low Income Parents Can't Afford Health Insurance http://ripr.org/post/concern-growing-low-income-parents-cant-afford-health-insurance <p>About 4500 parents who used to have health insurance through RIte Care, the state’s Medicaid program, will have to reapply for insurance if they want to remain covered after the end of the month. The biggest concern is that the poorest Rhode Islanders may not be able to afford it.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27441 at http://ripr.org Concern Growing That Low Income Parents Can't Afford Health Insurance Diabetes Rising In RI + A Diabetic Teddy Bear http://ripr.org/post/diabetes-rising-ri-diabetic-teddy-bear <p>On this <a href="http://www.hhs.gov/news/press/2013pres/11/20131114a.html">World Diabetes Day</a>, I decided to look into the prevalence of diabetes in Rhode Island and find out whether diagnoses are on the rise. They are, unsurprisingly. Check out this <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/atlas/obesityrisk/44/atlas.html">interactive map </a>from the CDC that shows the increase in diabetes rates over time in each Rhode Island county.</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 21:10:48 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 24830 at http://ripr.org Diabetes Rising In RI + A Diabetic Teddy Bear New Data On How Poverty Hurts Kids' Brains http://ripr.org/post/new-data-how-poverty-hurts-kids-brains <p>Stress can affect developing brains, including the kind of stress that poverty can create. But a strong caregiver can mediate those effects. Those are the findings of a new <a href="http://archpedi.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleID=1761544&amp;utm_source=Silverchair%20Information%20Systems&amp;utm_medium=email&amp;utm_campaign=JAMAPediatrics%3AOnlineFirst10%2F28%2F2013">study </a>in the Journal JAMA Pediatrics. It's not news that stress and poverty can have negative effects. Wed, 30 Oct 2013 16:46:39 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 24011 at http://ripr.org New Data On How Poverty Hurts Kids' Brains RI falls behind on some kids' dental health measures http://ripr.org/post/ri-falls-behind-some-kids-dental-health-measures <p>(PROVIDENCE, RI) A new <a href="http://www.pewstates.org/research/state-fact-sheets/rhode-island-falling-short-85899440485">report </a>from the Pew Center on the States finds that Rhode Island is falling behind when it comes to meet children’s dental health needs.</p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 19:16:51 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 7347 at http://ripr.org