health care http://ripr.org en Debrief: New Health Laws Address Addiction, Breast Cancer http://ripr.org/post/debrief-new-health-laws-address-addiction-breast-cancer <p>Another legislative session has wrapped up. Health care reporter Kristin Gourlay joins host Dave Fallon in the studio to talk about how health care fared on Smith Hill.</p><p>Here's a transcript of their discussion.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:21:30 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 35634 at http://ripr.org CVS Gets Green Light To Open Retail Clinics In RI http://ripr.org/post/cvs-gets-green-light-open-retail-clinics-ri <p>The nation’s largest pharmacy chain has been given the green light to open seven retail health care clinics in Rhode Island. CVS pharmacies’ MinuteClinics would see patients for minor illnesses and perform some routine health screenings. But state health officials' approval comes with several conditions.</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 17:32:17 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 33618 at http://ripr.org CVS Gets Green Light To Open Retail Clinics In RI Ready: RI's Road Map For Health Care Transformation http://ripr.org/post/ready-ris-road-map-health-care-transformation <p>A little while ago I mentioned this plan was being drafted, and open for public comment. The final product is available now, and it's worth a read, here: http://www.healthcare.ri.gov/healthyri/resources/SHIPwithAppendix.pdf (.pdf opens another document).</p><p>First, this document, the "Rhode Island State Healthcare Innovation Plan," produced out of Lt. Governor Elizabeth Roberts' office, is a great snapshot of the state's health care system. If you want a primer on our health care system, our biggest health problems, and where the opportunities lie for fixing them, look it over.</p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 20:56:03 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27730 at http://ripr.org Tools For Health Care Consumers: Quality, Cost, And Care http://ripr.org/post/tools-health-care-consumers-quality-cost-and-care <p>Thousands of Rhode Islanders have signed up for health insurance in recent weeks, some for the first time. I'm thinking that means some might not be so familiar with our health care system, or they might not know how to keep costs down with plans that carry higher deductibles or out-of-pocket costs.</p><p>So... here are a few tools to help you navigate, from finding the highest quality, to keeping costs down, to managing your own health. It's not an exhaustive list, but a start...if you're starting from scratch!</p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 21:27:54 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27515 at http://ripr.org The Bottom Health Stories of 2013 http://ripr.org/post/bottom-health-stories-2013 <p>Lots of news organizations, including this one, are ticking off the year's top 10 stories. I'd like to run through some of Rhode Island's <em>bottom </em>health stories, meaning the ones <em>least </em>likely to have appeared on radar screens - but which should have. And don't worry: there's some good news in here too!</p><p>In no particular order:</p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 17:27:29 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 26878 at http://ripr.org Reducing Overtreatment, Overtesting, And Overdiagnosis http://ripr.org/post/reducing-overtreatment-overtesting-and-overdiagnosis <p>I had a chance to speak to Department of Health director Dr. Michael Fine this morning as he traveled to a conference in Boston. The gathering, put on by the Lown Institute, is "<a href="http://lowninstitute.org/event/lown-conference-2013-from-avoidable-care-to-right-care/">From Avoidable Care to Right Care</a>," convenes "...clinicians, patient advocates, and civic leaders to deepen our mutual understanding of the cultural, scientific, and ethical issues surrounding the overuse of medical services." (Dr. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 20:47:46 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25703 at http://ripr.org Reducing Overtreatment, Overtesting, And Overdiagnosis Sen. Whitehouse To Focus On Health Reform Success In RI http://ripr.org/post/sen-whitehouse-focus-health-reform-success-ri <p>Senator Sheldon Whitehouse will hold a roundtable discussion Monday on how the Affordable Care Act is benefiting the state. He hopes to call attention to efforts to reduce costs and improve quality.</p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 17:42:44 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25451 at http://ripr.org Sen. Whitehouse To Focus On Health Reform Success In RI Are You Changing Health Plans For 2014? http://ripr.org/post/are-you-changing-health-plans-2014 <p>You might be, if:</p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 18:29:34 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25062 at http://ripr.org Moody's: RI Cities May Shift Retiree Health Costs http://ripr.org/post/moodys-ri-cities-may-shift-retiree-health-costs <p>In a new report, investment research firm Moody's says more Rhode Island cities are looking into shifting retirees into health plans on the online health insurance exchange to save money. That's just one of several strategies cities are considering to deal with rising health care costs.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 18:41:10 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 24892 at http://ripr.org Moody's: RI Cities May Shift Retiree Health Costs Feds Finalize Mental Health Parity Rules; State Implications Under Review http://ripr.org/post/feds-finalize-mental-health-parity-rules-state-implications-under-review <p>Most health insurance plans must now cover mental health and addiction treatment the same way they cover medical benefits. A trio of federal agencies has issued the final rule on how to implement the Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act of 2008. Former congressman Patrick Kennedy says the act he co-sponsored is only a beginning for better mental health treatment.</p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 21:36:48 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 24539 at http://ripr.org