smoking http://ripr.org en 50 Years Of Anti-Tobacco Efforts. Can RI Quit Now? http://ripr.org/post/50-years-anti-tobacco-efforts-can-ri-quit-now <p>Can we slack off on prevention efforts now? Not if we want to prevent the estimated 1,750 tobacco-related deaths every year, <a href="http://health.ri.gov/data/tobacco/">according to the Rhode Island Department of Health</a>. And that doesn't take into account the number of years lives are shortened by exposure to second-hand smoke.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 19:40:18 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 27394 at http://ripr.org 50 Years Of Anti-Tobacco Efforts. Can RI Quit Now? RI Smoking Rates Down, But Costs Still High http://ripr.org/post/ri-smoking-rates-down-costs-still-high <p>The Department of Health has a <a href="http://www.health.ri.gov/publications/burdendocuments/2013AdultTobaccoUse.pdf">new report </a>out on how many Rhode Islanders smoke. While the number of adult smokers has declined, nearly one in five Rhode Islanders still smokes.</p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 20:09:18 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 25072 at http://ripr.org RI Smoking Rates Down, But Costs Still High New Study Praises Providence's Anti-Tobacco Efforts http://ripr.org/post/new-study-praises-providences-anti-tobacco-efforts <p>A new study from public health researchers praises Providence&rsquo;s efforts to curb tobacco use. The researchers say other cities should follow suit in banning certain tobacco retail practices.</p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 20:39:15 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 23198 at http://ripr.org New Study Praises Providence's Anti-Tobacco Efforts Providence Ban on Flavored Tobacco Upheld by First Circuit Court of Appeals http://ripr.org/post/providence-ban-flavored-tobacco-upheld-first-circuit-court-appeals <p>The City of Providence said it hopes more municipalities follow its lead and pass ordinances that curb the sale of flavored tobacco products. The First Circuit Court of Appeals has upheld a pair of ordinances banning the sale of flavored tobacco products and some store discounts.</p><p>The ban went into effect last January. Peter Asen, director of Providence&rsquo;s Healthy Communities Office, said it likely contributed to results of a new study showing low rates of smoking in 6<sup>th</sup> 8<sup>th</sup> and 12<sup>th</sup> graders</p> Wed, 02 Oct 2013 12:48:31 +0000 Catherine Welch 22575 at http://ripr.org Providence Ban on Flavored Tobacco Upheld by First Circuit Court of Appeals Should Smokers Pay More for Health Insurance? http://ripr.org/post/should-smokers-pay-more-health-insurance <p>Under the Affordable Care Act, health insurers will be able to charge smokers up to 50% more than non-smokers for health insurance. Fair or not, a Politico <a href="http://www.politico.com/story/2013/03/smokers-can-evade-insurance-surcharge-88463.html?hp=r13">article </a>points out how difficult that policy might be to enforce - and not simply because smokers could lie. For instance:</p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 22:48:35 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 11488 at http://ripr.org American Lung Association scores RI's tobacco efforts http://ripr.org/post/american-lung-association-scores-ris-tobacco-efforts <p>(PROVIDENCE, RI) Rhode Island’s scores are mixed on a new report card from the American Lung Association. &nbsp; The grades are based on the state’s efforts to control and prevent tobacco use.</p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Kristin Gourlay 8429 at http://ripr.org