Arts & Culture http://ripr.org en Ocean State's "Guys and Dolls" Is Hit And Miss http://ripr.org/post/ocean-states-guys-and-dolls-hit-and-miss <p></p><p>Well, yes it does. At the Ocean State in Warwick “Guys and Dolls” – admittedly one of my all-time favorite musicals – comes across as a bifurcated project. On the one hand there is still that marvelous score by Frank Loesser, songs that can break your heart and make you laugh out loud. Under music director Justin P. Cowan they are handled well by a cast of good singers who know how to offer a song without seeming to force it.</p><p></p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 08:10:00 +0000 Bill Gale 36717 at http://ripr.org Ocean State's "Guys and Dolls" Is Hit And Miss Artscape: Summer Reading For Young Adults http://ripr.org/post/artscape-summer-reading-young-adults <p>It’s the summer reading season, and for this month’s Artscape we explore books for young adults starting with what some kids at the Cumberland Public Library plan to read this summer.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p><strong>Summer Reading Students</strong></p><p>Phillip DiDomenico, 10 years old, recommends <em>Frindle</em> by Andrew Clements, which he read during the school year.</p><p>Sophia Dauphine, 7 years old, plans to read <em>Diary of A Wimpy Kid</em> by Jeff Kinney</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 22:06:58 +0000 Catherine Welch & Elisabeth Harrison 35803 at http://ripr.org Artscape: Summer Reading For Young Adults RISCA Puts Out Call For Art For New URI Building http://ripr.org/post/risca-puts-out-call-art-new-uri-building <p>The Rhode Island State Council on the Arts has put out a call for new art.&nbsp; The work will be installed at the University of Rhode Island’s brand new center for chemical and life sciences.</p><p></p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 13:27:45 +0000 John Bender 35511 at http://ripr.org 2nd Story’s “Freud’s Last Session” Is Quick And Sharp http://ripr.org/post/2nd-story-s-freud-s-last-session-quick-and-sharp <p></p><p>It’s September, 1939 and the carnage of World War II is just beginning. Germany has invaded Poland. The British and their allies are preparing to fight. The world is on edge.</p><p>And, frankly, so are Dr. Freud and Professor Lewis, two of the great intellectuals of their time who are meeting in Freud’s office in England. But it’s not the Nazi war machine or the reluctant answer of its provocations by the British that’s under debate.</p><p></p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 08:05:00 +0000 Bill Gale 35009 at http://ripr.org 2nd Story’s “Freud’s Last Session” Is Quick And Sharp It’s Good To See The Rat Pack Again at Theatre By The Sea http://ripr.org/post/it-s-good-see-rat-pack-again-theatre-sea <p></p><p></p><p>Ahh, yes. How do I put this? If you are of a certain age, one that allows you to recognize the impact of names such as Dean and Joey and Sammy and, most of all, Frankie, well then you are probably going to enjoy “The Rat Pack Show” at Matunuck.</p><p></p><p>Produced by Sandy Hackett, son of the major 1950sCHK comedian, Buddy Hackett, it’s pretty much a charming throwback to those days when people dressed up to go to the theater, where they liked their jokes hot and quick, and no-body had ever heard of the internet or tweeting or flip-flops.</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 07:56:00 +0000 Bill Gale 34940 at http://ripr.org It’s Good To See The Rat Pack Again at Theatre By The Sea Alec Baldwin To Speak At Fundraiser For Central Falls Library http://ripr.org/post/alec-baldwin-speak-fundraiser-central-falls-library <p>Actor Alec Baldwin will be in Rhode Island this weekend to help raise money for the Central Falls library. The event, called “Baldwin for Books” features the actor along with Central Falls students and teachers reading passages from literature. There will also be a raffle to read Shakespeare with Baldwin. The library’s executive director Joel Pettit&nbsp; says he doesn’t know why the actor is helping the library, but has an idea.</p><p></p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 12:40:29 +0000 Catherine Welch 34704 at http://ripr.org Trinity Rep’s “A Lie Of The Mind:” Delightful, Dark and Scary http://ripr.org/post/trinity-rep-s-lie-mind-delightful-dark-and-scary <p></p><p>There’s a myriad of ways to approach “A Lie of the Mind” and the huge production at Trinity. First of all is the fantasia of a set by director Brian Mertes and the ever-inventive designer Eugene Lee.</p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 08:46:00 +0000 Bill Gale 34614 at http://ripr.org Trinity Rep’s “A Lie Of The Mind:” Delightful, Dark and Scary Woody Allen Will Shoot Movie in Rhode Island This Summer http://ripr.org/post/woody-allen-will-shoot-movie-rhode-island-summer <p>Woody Allen will shoot a movie in Rhode Island this summer. The state’s film office says the director will bring his production to the Ocean State in July and August but won’t say where they will be shooting. The film will star Emma Stone and Joaquin Phoenix.</p><p></p><p><a href="http://variety.com/2014/film/news/emma-stone-joaquin-phoenix-woody-allen-1201172304/"><em>Variety,</em> a trade publication reports</a> that the movie will have an ensemble cast the Allen is still piecing together.</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 17:38:50 +0000 Catherine Welch 34537 at http://ripr.org Harry Potter And The Forbidden Books http://ripr.org/post/harry-potter-and-forbidden-books In my small Georgia hometown, which had 144 churches and one bar, Harry Potter was considered the height of devilish devices — a conspiracy created to lure innocent children down the wicked paths to moral ruin. I could count on one hand the number of kids I knew who'd read the forbidden books, and they'd been bullied for it. Sat, 31 May 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Jessica Khoury 34584 at http://ripr.org Harry Potter And The Forbidden Books The Rhode Island Philharmonic Looks At Seventy http://ripr.org/post/rhode-island-philharmonic-looks-seventy <p>This Sunday, internationally acclaimed cellist Yo-Yo Ma joins the Rhode Island Philharmonic for a concert to kick off the orchestra’s seventieth season.</p><p>Rhode Island Public Radio’s John Bender spoke with the orchestra’s executive director David Beauchesne to talk about the concert, the state of the orchestra at seventy, and building the next generation of musicians.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 30 May 2014 14:15:24 +0000 John Bender 34412 at http://ripr.org The Rhode Island Philharmonic Looks At Seventy