Mass. drivers face texting ban
BOSTON – Massachusetts drivers who text while behind the wheel need to break the habit and fast.
This week, Massachusetts becomes the 30th state to introduce a texting ban as more states have cracked down on distracted driving.
s of Thursday, drivers who are caught texting will face fines ranging from $100 for a first offense and up to $500 for repeat offenses. The new law also prohibits scanning the Internet on a phone or mobile device while driving and bans anyone under 18 from talking on a cell phone while driving.
Police will be able to pull over drivers they see texting, but the offense would not be considered a moving violation subject to an insurance surcharge.