Rhode Island Public Radio Board of Directors

Rhode Island Public Radio (RIPR) is the community licensee for WRNI-FM 102.7. RIPR leases WELH 88.1 FM from the Wheeler School, and WCVY 91.5 FM from Coventry Public Schools. RIPR is a not-for-profit, 501(c)(3), Rhode Island corporation. 

Meetings of the full board are held at noon on the fourth Tuesday of each month at the offices of Kahn Litwin Renza, 951 N. Main St., Providence.  Meetings are open to the public. (The meeting on April 24th, 2018 will be held at NAIL Communications, 63 Eddy Street, Providence, RI)

Meetings of the finance committee are held at noon on the third Tuesday of each month at the offices of Kahn Litwin Renza951 N. Main St., Providence.  Meetings are open to the public.

The full board of directors consists of the Rhode Islanders listed below.

  • Jeremy Crisp
  • Cornelia Dean
  • Jonathan Fain
  • Peggy Farrell
  • Carl Freedman, Secretary
  • Mark Gim
  • Adam Hamblett
  • Julia S. Jordan-Zachary, Ph.D
  • David W. Kellogg
  • Todd Knapp
  • Fraser Lang
  • Erica Laros
  • James E. "Ted" Long, Jr., Co Vice-Chair
  • Tony Lucci
  • Torey Malatia, President, CEO and General Manager
  • Beth Ann Marootian
  • Linda McGoldrick
  • Joop Nagtegaal, Treasurer
  • Robert Naparstek
  • David Palombi
  • Diane Ritchie, M.D.
  • Janet Robinson, Co Vice-Chair
  • Shelley Roth
  • Henry Sharpe III
  • Teresa L. Schraeder, M.D.
  • Ken Shimberg
  • Bill Stone, Chair
  • Bob Vetromile

RIPR is a recipient of grant funds from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and, therefore, subject to certain requirements of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended (Act).  One obligation of the Act surrounds open meetings of the recipient's Board of Directors (see Sec. 396(k)(4)).  The Act allows Board meetings to be closed to the public in order to discuss certain, specified matters (discussion of individual employee(s), proprietary information, litigation, matters involving advice of counsel, confidential commercial or financial information, or the purchase of property or services the exposure of which would compromise the business interests of RIPR).  RIPR conducts its meetings in accordance with the open meeting requirements of the Act. Portions of the meetings are closed to the public to discuss these matters.