Dorah L. Perry

The YWCA Rhode Island is out with its 5th annual Women Holding Office Celebration. This year the YWCA will honor two path-breaking Rhode Island women political figures with the Isabelle Ahearn O’Neill award. Republican Susan L. Farmer, who in 1982 became the first woman elected to a statewide office in Rhode Island when she was elected secretary of state, and Kathleen S. Connell, who became the first Democratic woman to win statewide office when she was elected secretary of state in 1986.